A Bouquet of words

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



13-04-original-colorful-abstract-modern-palette-knife_P2.jpg



...I tried not to look at her, as if she were the sun,
yet I saw her, like the sun, even without looking.

—Leo Tolstoy



Take
One snowy Moon
And some black frozen earth
And I’ll make for you
A poem…
A sun flare
Of words


The red suns
Of summer
Are not lovely
As your hair

Nor the soft warmth
Of June
Whenever
You draw near

And I’ll use stars
As tiny sparks
To light up
Your thoughts

But the best use
Of words
Starts a fire
In your heart.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

I think your words net a lot of hearts in amber glow and warmth.

that is so kind and poetic, mere! Thank you :)

I enjoyed the simple wording of this poem and how you didn't need to use flowery words to bring meaning to the depth to the piece. Great write.

thanks, @moeknows - appreciate the encouragement

Love the painting and the poem. Both have colour and fire.

thank you, Ceci

this words starts a fire In my heart. ....very nice

thanks, @yagoub

This post has received a 8.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

hello excellent post you do a good job you are an example to follow in steemit to achieve success I invite you to see my post and because you can not give me an upvote and follow me if you like it

https://steemit.com/travel/@felixrodriguez/touring-corners-of-venezuela

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $26.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Steemit must be proud to have you here @johnjgeddes. Nothing more to say. Your work speaks for itself.

The charm of language.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45