You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ode to an Ancient Statue - Tribute to the English Romantics - Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 3

in #poetry7 years ago

I like the Romantic Poetry nod; my favorites are Keats and Wordsworth, though our modern times are more aligned with Ezra Pound's "Total focus on the object or thing itself." I like how you harkened back to the meter and rhyme of those old romantic poets; even calling some by name and invoking gods as well.

Sort:  

I must admit, I've had many times in my writing where I have gravitated towards the Ezra mantra, and I do not think this poem would read well in any language but mine.

It's far from perfect, but it's been through many and more reworks, and I'm very happy with what it has become.

Honored that you have found much of what I've hidden in, Jocelyn. Despite the British Romantics being a gateway drug and often treated as nothing more, I still believe they have a lot to teach someone like me.

Thank you so very much for your comment, @jocelynlily, and many congratulations on your currie!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36