Celestial Sacrifice (A Poem)

in #poetry5 years ago

Image found on Pixabay

Celestial Sacrifice

I knew all this time she had a thing
for angels and astronauts,
jet pilots and junkies.
She could’ve been with Superman
yet she settled for me,
a guy afraid of heights
and too comfortable
with his feet on the ground.
“Why? Why me?,” I asked her once.
“Because it gets lonely up there
without you,” she said.
I tell her if I had wings
I would’ve given her the sky.
She smiles, shakes her head
and says she loves me.
She says that maybe
she already gave up the sky
just so she could fall with me.

Jaundré van Breda © 2019

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Gosh, so sweet, so tender, so full with softness and goodness and warmth ; __ ; I love it, Jaundre <3

Thanks, Lise. It's great to see you here again.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66697.56
ETH 3490.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17