The Sounds of the Sound - Original Poem by @jeffjagoe at 10 Years Old

in #poetry7 years ago

DSC_0351.JPG

The Sounds of the Sound

Original Poem by @jeffjagoe at 10 Years Old

The ocean waves go up and down,
like a rollercoaster off the ground.
As if the waves were giant hills,
full of houses and wind mills.
But from above you can see,
a sandy beach and a palm tree.
I found a jingle shell in the sand,
I picked it up and held it in my hand.
So then I dropped it, it was too small,
I couldn't find the shell at all.
I found a piece of brown sea glass,
It was a brown sail and a mast.
I ran to the shore in a dash,
I threw the glass in, it made a crash.
I heard a chirp, I got real scared,
It was a seagull at the beach, so no one cared.
The waves are crashing the tide is high,
and the seagulls are chirping in the sky.
There are sounds in the sky, there are sounds on the ground
But all in all, there is sounds in The Sound.

333333.png

IMG_0411.jpg

333333.png

Synopsis

I wrote this poem for my English class when I was 10 years old. It runs a bit off track and the grammar isn't perfect, but I thought it would be a good share for this week's #BeachWednesday. This poem was written about Long Island Sound. My hometown is a small suburban city on the coast of Long Island Sound. It's always nice to take a walk down by the shore. The sights and sounds of the coastal wild-life always gives you something to enjoy. The picture up top was taken this summer on the shores of Long Island Sound. A Seagull feasts on an unlucky Spider Crab. During low tide the birds are always working the tidal pools for a fresh catch.

333333.png

Happy #BeachWednesday

Where is your beach?

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

That’s legit AF

Such a beautiful poem, you were and are very talented! You chose the picture so good!

hahaha thank you very much, I am glad you enjoyed :)

if you wrote this when you were ten, i wonder what you will write now. this is lovely

Perhaps I need to write a poem again.... I probably haven’t written poetry since I was this young.

I love this idea. I found a book of songs/poems I wrote when I was like 12 the other day. Maybe I’ll have to steal your idea ☺️

Dooo it! I encourage you to share them :)

That was beautifully written.
Great post my friend.

Nostalgic times. Fun of you to share. I've only briefly been to the east coast, Bar Harbor. It's a cool different culture.

That is pretty darn cool far better than what I could write now LOL

I love this poem! How sweet your 10 year old self wrote it, does reading it bring you back to being a kid? Thanks for sharing :)

I sure wish! Nothing better than being a kid with no responsibilities!

Glad you enjoyed! Thanks for the comment

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.75 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.15
Server time: 19:18:03
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 243.55/400.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.32 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55