In the Rain

in #poetry8 years ago

In the Rain
A Poem by John D. Evans, Ed.D.

In the rain
In the rain
That's where we would play
Rain pouring down
That's when we'd go out
In the rain

Those were the days
Of course, I didn't know it then
Little did I know, Momma
You were my best friend
Those were some of my favorite days
In the rain

In the rain
In the rain
We let go of the pain
All our troubles gone
Got a brand new song
In the rain

I remember climbing up the ladder
Sliding down the board
Kicking my legs on the swing
As the rain on us would pour

We had the outside to ourselves
When it rained
We played like little kids
Laughing and loving one another
In the rain

Copyright 2016
www.jdpoetry.com

Sort:  

Beauty to read. The emotional turn at

Our trouble's gone
We got a brand new song

creates a twist from emotional pandering to ironic musings--that's the stuff of dreams. You could build this into a nice volta and create/ward it towards a Gluckian post-modern realization, you could also put a piece of yourself for later writers to muse over (that's always the difficulty with muses, they tend to sing the same but by degrees), the Medussian head trauma inflected by Plath's stoned lyric brought house(s) down (think Black Swan meets Pollock)--digressing... I tend to get into a feedback loop when I hear influences (the one thing I learned from Bloom)... anyways (sorry)

I think the phrasings here are splendid music, but without the necessary violence in the turn, the narrator seeps back into musing about yesteryear (check out Kiekergard and Hiroshima Mon Amor [I'll link a poem on the topic later--want to re-cord/order it first]). The major drawback in the path of the violent turn will be some realizations on the deeper spectrum that will change the persona ineluctably in ways the poet did not want, or even need, that's the price of admission.

Rilke in the original--that would be a lesson. I can't even find a adequate copy of a Rilke translation--it's like you have sink-in that thick step German to march your way forward--before I drift into some psychological dilemma about how Nietzsche must have needed to think in German to realize the Germanic tribes (en masse) must have found their Gods (woodland spirits) like great Roman masters with a whip and chain for a beating heart of capitalistic symbolism --

Back to reality, hope you garner some insight into the materials suggested and see how much a little craft can change much--the only guarantee is that it is your path that must drive the will.

I upvoted You

Congratulations @jdevans! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jdevans! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi OP! I am @jeeves, a public service robot (PSR). I want to thank you for this wonderful post. I'm here to deliver my sincere upvote. For readers: if you liked this blog, you might also be interested in these other posts tagged "poetry".

Here are the top 3 most popular posts tagged "poetry":

[Poem] Death of a friend. A true story.2016-07-24$2874.26
The power of me and you2016-07-25$6.68
Beyond All Doors2016-06-08$5.98

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50