Space Cadet - An Original Poem

in #poetry8 years ago

Adrift, alone in a vast expanse
stretched out to infinity, endless.

I explore, and discover
for that is the oath I took.

To explore, to go beyond
the galaxy, the universe.

I have seen that which others
haven't imagined in their wildest dreams.

I have met those which
one cannot perceive.

But even in these fantastical encounters
the shadow of solitude has loomed over me.

I have enjoyed it's bliss
but have also tasted it's bitter taste.

Isolated and forgot, forsaken
to explore, map and chart.

For I have devoted my life to exploration
so that others who come after would not.

The only thing that will be there
is the universe, when I breathe my last breath.

And thus I shall be dissolved back into stardust,
into dream-matter, and nothingness.


SOURCE: 1

Sort:  

Love it! :) Re-esteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83