A Battlefield - An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

The fog surrounds the battlefield,
a wasteland full of fallen soldiers.

Once, the blood shed here
put the color of rose to shame.

But now it's unknown,
lost to the ocean of history.

For whatever reason was it fought
for whatever reason so many lives were lost?

Did it raise us to the status of gods?
or did it reduce us to nothing but dust?

The fear that was once felt here,
the sounds of bullets ripping through flesh
that once raged the heartbeats of soldiers
now it is forgotten, lost.

The joys of the victor
the cries of the vanquished
now all are equal
and there is nothing but silence.

As I tread through this wasteland
I question the fallen souls
"Was it worth it now?"
the silence is my answer.


SOURCE: http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/random-role-playing/forum/post/217928/title/god-slayers

I was inspired by a quote I had read some while ago.

Stand in the ashes of a trillion dead souls and ask the ghosts if honor matters. The silence is your answer - Javik (Mass Effect 3)

Sort:  

I enjoyed this infinitor

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49