You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POETRY CONTEST - Runaway Rhymes 7: Let's See, Why Me?

in #poetry7 years ago

Why me?

I sigh and lean against a tree
Why am I alone at this party?

Why did I get all dressed up?
It's not as if she'll see my getup.

The dance floor's empty, but wait
Maybe she was just a little late

She boogies and spins and hops
Thump, my heart almost stops

I shimmy and shuffle my way towards her
She smiles and the rest is a blur

13 years later as we expect our first
There's a query the answer for which I thirst

"Why me?" in tones of angsty grown man petulance
"Simple," she replies, "because you dance."

Sort:  

That's a sentimental and lovely why me. Thank you for entering

Also pleasantly based on truth :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55