Happy Birthday To Me - The Sad and Happy Poem of My Day

in #poetry6 years ago

There can be something quite depressing "celebrating" birthdays on my own.
I even have a boyfriend this time, but i spend more time alone.
Maybe something's wrong with me, I have a never ending list
Sometime's I have to not give a shit, or failing that get pissed.

So come tomorrow I will pretend it's a special day
Despite the constant feelings that I'm always in the way
Maybe this is the year I can be of use...
But if not, getting high? there is a good excuse.

I'll probably learn stuff and get lost in good sounds
For those moments I'm occupied, I'll forget that no one's around.
The longer those moments, the better the day
With some chocolate cake and a good movie, I can pass the time away

You'd think I'd be depressed by now, but I guess it's nothing knew
You see, long ago was the time my day was happy
Nowadays it's more about ensuring I have plenty to do.

I have a wad of ideas and things to try
Hopefully enough to avoid wanting to cry
With some slurps of wine which I politely "stole" from my friend
Maybe it will be a nice birthday in the end :)

Sort:  

Thanks so much guys! It was a lovely day in the end, started a bit rocky and lost but then I got gifts, cuddles and a posh choc cake. Just spent the time blobbing about and having fun, was a really nice day. And the best part is how much the sun came out; blue sky, warm day, i've had my windows open every day since... Spring is officially here! :D

It was such a lovely surprise to see the upvotes and messages on here too! like an extra cherry on my cake thanks to my brother-dear and friends :D I am one happy-lucky girl.

Today is Saturday pants day, watching The Tick series, which is proving as comical as old batman tv. Im in my pants. The dog is eating a bone, the air is warm and fresh and im more relaxed than i've been since February. Feels so good!

I have @suzanrs microscope to play with which I want to try make a funny documentry of small lives, I have a fridge full of food and a haircut to look forward too (much needed!) thanks to @mobbsclan, so much weight lifted of my mind, not stressing and worrying about the little things every day is probably the best gift of all. I feel like ive been given 2 weeks of breathing space to catch up with things and restructure the next year's plans.

Birthdays are always hard and peculiar for me but this is another one where I got my magick back and a positive angle to shuffle along.

Happy days ahoy :)

Big loves to everyone x

I hope it's not been so bad and you've been investigating the smallest of things ;)
Maybe inspecting cake and wine close up is almost as good as when you consume it.

Happy Birthday. Nice poem.

Thanks :D It really was in the end, i love a new age :D

Enjoy for one year, then you have another :)

Happy birthday, fellow Steemian. I just commented few minutes back on another post about how alone time gives you freedom and perspective. Enjoy your day.

:) Thanks v much. You can never have too much freedom... but i think I prefer to not think anything on my silly day, perspective (which for me usually equals thinking too much from too many different angles) is for the rest of the year... Nontheless, Jolly things will be! I'll have a slice of cake on your behalf nom nom :D

True, not a good day for this perspective thingy. Pamper yourself. Enjoy.

Happy Birthday to you !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25