A Badge of Honor

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


Love has always seemed to run from me
From the time I was a child it has never come easy
The love of a father was something that had to be earned
A badge of honor I could never attain
A constant battle I still, to this day, have not won
But then...I met you
And love came easy
For once in my life I didn't have to change
I didn't have to conform to the ideals of a standard that was set up with the sole purpose of making me fail
You showed me something
Something new
Something real
Something scary...
But it's the kind of danger I long for
The kind that pulls you in so closely only to make you wonder how long you can stand to hold on
And yet still, I never let go.

~Granegvesky

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @granegvesky. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @granegvesky to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.31
ETH 3859.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65