Escaping Poverty – An Original Poem

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


I escaped poverty today
and all my dreams came true,
the house, the car; the suite.
A suiter pursued and ensnared
by lady love's gaze.

We married and had two kids today,
little weeds sprouting from seeds.
Tommy's five and the other's three,
he just started talking.
Oh, sweet memories!


I'm never going back
to hunger pains and
nourishing Trojan horses,
those three rotten courses
that unleash samurai,
slicing up my insides.

In a slow cellular genocide,
with no lavatory to call my own.
A winter refugee in so many homes,
paying for my stay with strings
that unravel my dignity.


I escaped poverty today,
in ways that I can't say.
Living a lifetime of love,
with concern from above.
Thanks to my doctor

who prefers guns, to a degree
and refills receptors suffering from atrophy.
A consolation prize to heal my soul;
restore my health, with an injection
of synthetic wealth.



Image Source

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Very good poem as always! Thanks for sharing😊

@annesaya
Thank you for the compliment,
I do try to make the good for you :)

I really enjoyed this poem, quite clever how the begining links the end.

Thank you, I am glad that you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90