Girl beyond the looking glass (Original content, actual @girlbeforemirror)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Alone before the mirror
Gazing solemnly and plain,
Seeking she who lives beyond
Behind the glassy pane.

The potential of what lies ahead
It's story not yet scribed,
Determined mostly by
Minds disposition to self jibe.

Does anybody see themselves?
Truly see who's there?
Or are impressions simply painted by
The brush of ego's flair?

Have you ever caught a glimpse
Reflected window shopping?
For just the slightest moment
Prior to the penny dropping.

Not realising that the image
mirrored back is you,
The freest moment you will get
To see yourself most true.

Not preempting or prejudging
Catch yourself off guard,
Free of thought and memory
That left opinions scarred.

That truthful rare occasion
Overlooking all your flaws,
A temporary gift presenting
A self deprecating pause.

Prizing yourself the credit
Afforded to a stranger,
Remembering self kindness
Does not equate to danger.

Flawesome a buzz word
I heard spoken by a child,
Though within it's echo lives
A simple beauty most beguiled.

This is what I look like
With my mask removed today,
Though slightly tweaked still vulnerable
With baby steps I play.

PSX_20171231_094116.jpg

I pledged to become more transparent
Real and less afraid,
So I'm hitting post right now
Before my confidence is swayed.

There is a chance I will freak out
And edit out the image,
Though I'm hoping this acknowledgement
Will aid avoidance of such scrimmage.

To be vulnerable is scary
Yet also very freeing,
No shield of hat, hair or angle
With only eyes for seeing.

To step outside the shielded glass
This act was once forbidden,
Impuissant as it is
It's also nice to not be hidden.


PSX_20171228_160047.jpg

Sort:  

Resteemed, because you said, "FLAWESOME"!!!
imageedit_60_4696598753.gif

Wow great poetry..You are a great creator of steemit...i every post see..And your every post be very nice...Carry on my friend ....Resteemit...

Thank you for resteeming. I am grateful and humbled. Happy New Year

Most welcome...I will wait for your new one ..

welcome to steemit @girlbeforemirror, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

I wish that I could be this brave! I also suffer from chronic illness and I understand the toll this takes on self confidence. I don't like what I see in my reflection because I often judge myself...the way other people see me. Or at least the way that I imagine they do. But you have inspired me to work up the courage to make my own 'no mask' transparancy post...when I can gather up the courage! :)

As I said, baby steps. Very carefully selected photo, my reality is much less tidy.
I'm sorry you are not well. I am hoping for myself that in the coming year I can find my way again. Not back to who I was, but just from here onwards.
A new chapter is OK. I just need to find purpose again. Income yes, that is reality, but also self concept.

Self concept and purpose are really important...because without those how do you really focus on the goals that will bring you forward? Sometimes the idea of earning income feels as abstract as those fleeting emotions that hint at something tangible just on the horizon.

Thank you Rebecca. I hope you had a great new year. X

👍🏼👍🏼

Nice poem! It's also nice to not be hidden. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44