An Evening's Reverence Day 11.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Dusk approaches
Stills, defusing the day
Calming the sultry air
The eve embraced

The gentlest touch
Breeze whispers goodnight
Leaves
As delicate
Branches tenderly sway
Lulls the night
Into being

The last rays
Kiss the bay
Sun sinking
Into it's depths
As she bids the day
Farewell

IMG_20180318_115937.jpg

Light entwined
With the gentle breeze
Appeasing
They dance
Upon the water
Their union ripples
Visible
Upon the surface
Their last frantic waltz
Contrasted against
The stillness
Of the evening tide

They make way
For the nocte dweller
Ushering in
The vespertine hour

Cicadas rhythmically signal
Circadian endogenous cycle
Bats appear
Ascross the sky
As predicable too
As the setting sun

This is there hour
Sailing the sky
Silhouetted against the grey
In great numbers they fly
Though each maintain
Their solo path
Effortless flight
Marks day's end
And stakes claim
To the night

IMG_20180318_115909.jpg

First star appears
Like a tiny hole
In the silken cloak
That divides
Heaven and earth
The smallest window
To the gods
Eluding a glace
Shrouded
Under clouded cover

The moon
But a slither
Of herself
Cyclical shadow
That deems her less
Observed by the earth
Obtusely overshadowed
And judged
As only a fraction of herself
A world she serves
Without gratis

She is
A resigned soloist
Circling the earth
She dances
The earth
Upon it's own path
Never deviates
To truly join her

IMG_20180318_115924.jpg

It is said
She used to twirl
Turned and whirled
Upon her axis
As she circled
Her world

No longer
Does she turn

She continues
On her path
For she is forever
Caught
Within his magnetism
Unable to break free
Unwilling

Not turning
Her face upon him
Always
Her darker side
Never shown
She continues to dance
Never breaking he rhythm
Or her glance

The bats
Across her face
They too repeat
Their ritual
Dancing floating
Trance
As night has fallen

Silent flight
A vigil
To those
Who own the night.

photos from pixabay.


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

A truly transportive write, GBH. It took me away as they say. Sublime:)

thank you for genitally transporting me here so that I may watch the night break and the bats wheel with you.

truly, you have done something special when you can take a reader to a place they have never been before <3

Hello !
thank you for genitally transporting...
Sometimes I search a phrase because I don't quite grasp it. Particularly lately with literary talk .
This was what I found lol
The dynamics of rapid sperm transport through the female genital tract:
...your welcome glad to be of assistance, and thank you for appreciating the destination...if bats fly out I will be rather concerned. 😂
Source https://academic.oup.com/humrep/article/11/3/627/582632

whew, you can tell that I am too tired from reading and commenting on soo many poems, because this word for sure was supposed to be gently. x_X

I could edit it, but it's good to check myself every now and again because that was rough, haha.

facepalm

I enjoyed it. 😂 😂 😂
I thought I knew what I was reading but I google checked just in case my intellectual friend had a thing or two to teach me. A Freudian stage perhaps, interpreted within the literary world in ways unknown to me.
I can see your youthful face turning a delightful shade of red. Bless you. You made my morning.
😊

...commenting on soo many poems...

You mean you have been sweet talking all the old bat cave 😆

I just reminded myself of a post I did about buying my husband a clock for our anniversary.
All the way through it was spell corrected to Cock.
It was a steel anniversary I think. I described the big shiny steel structure that I put a lot of thought and energy into, in great detail.
My friends enjoyed it (the post) for some time among themselves before they told me.

Arghhh, what are you not good at. I think I need to take lessons from you.

There are plenty of things I'm not good at I'm afraid. 😂 if I were to take your comment literally I could very well over share a long list of the ways in which I fail at being a person everyday.
But I will accept your kind words a a compliment. Thank you ☺
You don't need lessons from me, you are doing very well yourself in this challenge.

Almost had me fooled. I wish I was related to you, at least I would inherit some of your talent.

Wow cool!!!

One can't say what are you good at, you are as good at art as you are good at words. These drawings says things without describing

this one shows your strength!
how can you write so much good poetry in such a short time.
excellent

Last evening
As I sort refuge
Away from
Noisy and shouts,
I sat outside
At the days end
Just as the
Bats came out.
Rarely do I
See them
Not since
I worked evenings,
They cross the sky
So peacefully
On silent
Gliding wings.

i am still confused is this the reply of my comment or a poetry stanza!

It was an odd reply I'll give you that , sorry 😂.
The true answer is it takes everything I've got to dig up a piece of writing.
But I have very little else that fills my day due to illness.
I have given myself the one task of contributing to this 100 day challenge. Having said that, it has proven difficult to maintain as I have a problem with my hands, neck, general strength and fatigue. I have a connective tissue disorder that has been troublesome lately.
Engagement like this becomes increasingly important when it is the sum of your day.
I felt like nothing for a while, because I could do nothing. So now I am giving myself a few tasks to establish a bit of self concept and structure.
It does feel exhausting to me just posting.
I have moments of function (like when I did a silly reply to you yesterday), but mostly I have great limitations.

My young child sat with me at dusk last night and we watched the bats as the sun set. It was very exciting for him.

Very beautiful scenery
Do not forget My votes help each other

The perfect blend between your words and pict. Nice one!

By the one, I have poetry. Give me feedback if you want. Thanks @girlbeforemirror

Glass of life

https://steemit.com/poetry/@anggreklestari/glass-of-life-day-10-100-days-of-poetry-challenge

Owners of the night are flocking around the fire
On their heads are crowns made of human hearts
i'm poet if you wanted take a look at my blog <3 @wicca

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97