5 minute free write. Monkey's Wedding.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Rain falling from clouds
Not a single one seen,
The bluest of blue
The sky it does gleam.

The sun it is blazing
Not a whisper of haze,
The monkeys are wed
On such exceptional days.

Growing up a touch South
African land down under,
Had me question the things
My mother'd sometimes mutter.

Cardigans we called jerseys
Traffic lights, robots,
Til today's write prompt
Monkey's weddings forgot.

It's how my mother
Referenced sunshowers,
We'd marvel it's beauty
Danced, twirled wild flowers.

They'd appear out of nowhere
And leave just as fast,
Just thinking back now
Olfactory memories how they last.

The smell of the grass
And the dirt and the steem,
The magic of youth
Combined with the humid steem.

The things I'd decided
Were crazy mum things,
I'm just learning now
From my ancestors spring.

PSX_20180523_210150.jpg

This is a five minute free write. It was 7 I confess, I had to complete the... Stanza? Four line unstructured word cluster perhaps?

Monkey's wedding the prompt.


I joined the free write again yesterday.

@marcoriccardi dropped today's word prompt on my post from yesterday.

The phrase made me smile.

My mum had some funny turns of phrases when we were growing up.

We never really considered them South African-isms, we called them mumisms.


IMG_20180327_212103.jpgIMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

Ohhhh! How exciting! Thank you

Rain falling from clouds
Not a single one seen,
The bluest of blue
The sky it does gleam

Wow the oxymoron of this verse and the imageries, it's fantastically amazing, I love it so much, you're just so at your best these days

How have you been?

I am doing the 5 minute free write because it is about my limit at the moment, and gives me permission to have far from perfect meter, rhyme, rhythm and word selection. It also challenges my ego to just leave things.
Writing quickly accesses creative flow that can be very much hampered when you get stuck selecting words and sever the flow of ideas.
You should try it. You are doing so well with submissions though. Well done keeping it up.

That's great really, I'm glad you're doing well With the free write my friend I can now see the reasons, yes I've been pushing very far and trying to stay aboard, I'm so happy you're writing again

What a nice poem...ode to mom! I love how she called traffic lights, robots. And I also love the last stanza. May I suggest using #freewritepoetrydigest tag when you write poems. : )

Resident cat here, steadily walking on a wire while delivering today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-216-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wire

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Great poem full love, light and positivity. Loved it. Is that you dancing in the rain?

No... Pixabay. Praise pixabay. I do love a dance in the rain, I'm not sure I have documented it, I must though, for my blooper reel. Yes I have a blooper reel, out takes and foolishness, we used to call it my funeral reel, but my family find it macabre. But I plan a sped up Benny Hill style running comedy movie for my funeral , instead of those tragic photos with sad music. Every thing is funnier with a Benny Hill sound track.

In our family we always said the devil is beating his wife when it would rain as the sun was shining ...I like the monkey wedding better <3 how are you love <3 ?

I researched after I wrote it, I didn't want to corrupt my write with confirmation that it is a legitimate thing. I wanted to let the mumism be left ambiguous in my mind for the write. But I've learnt that many languages have references, mostly to marriage, birth.
The devil is behind the kitchen door beating his wife with a frying pan. is an interesting one.

I am so happy that you are writing with us again!! And I had no idea what monkey weddings meant - well, besides monkeys having a wedding and that brought all kinds of fun thoughts into my head lol

I think that you are one of the few who actually knew it. Some people got it from our good friend google 🤪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54