Snow in spring

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20180309-144927.jpg

Today I ran across a lovely small poem of Tang Dynasty(618--907 CE) named "Snow in Spring". Associating it to the present season--in the alternating warmth and coldness of early spring in March, I can't help smiling with pleasure. Only people who love poems can feel magic power of Such a wonderous and fantastic poem! It lights up my single heart! If snow is also vexed by the late coming of the warm and blossoming spring, so am I. I can't wait to say goodbye to this annoyingly cold and windy weather.

As for Tang Dynasty,

"It was one of the most prosperous dynasties in Chinese history. It was the golden age for poetry and painting, and best known for tricolored glazed pottery and woodblock painting."

This small poem is called 绝句 Jue Ju. What is 绝句 Jue Ju? it is a kind of ancient Chinese poetry form, similar to Japanese haiku. As usual, Japanese haiku is comprised of 3 lines, 绝句 Jue Ju has 4 lines, each line containing of five or seven Chinese characters.

In this 绝句Jue Ju,there are seven Chinese characters in each line. and its author is the famous poet Han Yu(韩愈)--the head of "Eight Prose Masters of the Tang and Song Dynasty". "Eight Prose Masters of the Tang and Song Dynasty" means 8 greatest poets and prosers during Tang and Song Dynasty, who respectively are Hanyu(韩愈), Liu Zongyuan(柳宗元) from Tang Dynasty and Su Shi(苏轼),Su Xun(苏洵), Su Zhe(苏辙) --Father Su Xun and Brothers Su Shi and Su Zhe, Ouyang Xiu(欧阳修), Wang Anshi(王安石) as well as Zeng Gong(曾巩) from Song Dynasty.
In my last Steemit blog "The begining of spring", I just referred to a poem written by Wang Anshi(王安石), who was also a prime minister in his time.

I love ancient Chinese poems so much. To some extent, it should be due to my mother. She loved reciting ancient Chinese poems when she was a young and vigorous mother. Now aging and illness wear her down, she is confined in bed all day long, which is really the sad side of our life. I am not young any longer, too. but I still clearly remember the scenes that we kids followed her to recite those ancient poems in our countyard under the summer starry night. She is my first teacher to lead me into an aesthetic world full of poems and love.

Until now, if you visit Chinese primary schools, you must hear the loud and long sounds of reading the ancient poems from school-kids. For Chinese, it is no exaggeration to say that reciting ancient Chinese poems loudly is a nourishment for the mind, a kind of spiritual food, a root of Chinese culture! --"China is a country of poem in history, having long 'the poem teaching' tradition."

At the same time, in my school-days--my youthful days, I immersed myself in a lot of popular novels from a Taiwan modern female author Qiong Yao(琼瑶) who won the title "God-mother of love" by young generations. She is proficient in ancient Chinese culture and poems, in her novels, readers can have access to a lot of ancient Chinese poems, known or unknown, with perfect interpretations through Chinese love stories between man and woman in the modern society.

The name of one of her famous novels--在水一方"Living beyond the River" originates from an ancient Chinese poem directly. After being made into movie, its theme song from the same beautiful ancient poem became fashionable for a time, passing down to now.

A golden song, a real classic!

Anyone can open this vedio to enjoy it.

I am afraid that many times foreigners have no way to appreciate the special beauty of Chinese poems/songs if they don't follow Chinese language. I wish I can find this song's English version for you--Steemiverse readers later. (If anyone has its English version, welcome to tell me in my blog's comments.)

In the past few years, I loved to share Chinese poems to my late American husband. He always took a great interest in ancient Chinese culture and art. We learned from each other, getting lost in our unique world.

For that reason, he especially sent me a wonderful English poem and recited it to me for helping improve my English listening comprehesion.

A Special World

A special world for you and me
A special bond one cannot see
It wraps us up in its cocoon
And holds us fiercely in its womb.

Its fingers spread like fine spun gold
Gently nestling us to the fold
Like silken thread it holds us fast
Bonds like this are meant to last.

And though at times a thread may break
A new one forms in its wake
To bind us closer and keep us strong
In a special world,where we belong


Now he has gone, I can still feel his gentle voice of recting this poem near my ear, like a lullaby, making my body so comfortable, my heart so warm.
Screenshot_20180309-135030.jpg
Screenshot_20180311-110534.jpg
Let's enjoy this lovely 绝句Jue Ju together. In North China, the early spring still remains cold, although the trees in the air are covered with the buds, the grass drills secretly from the earth, so tender and green. The snow in spring can come unexpectedly, inspring our great ancient poet to create such a subtle poem filled with feelings of whimsy.

《春雪》 韩愈

新年都未有芳华,二月初惊见草芽。
白雪却嫌春色晚,故穿庭树作飞花。

Snow in Spring
Han Yu

The new year has yet no fragrant blossoms,

But the second moon suddenly sees the grass sprouting;

The white snow, vexed by the late coming of spring's colours,

Of set purpose darts among the courtyard's trees to fashion flying petals.

Sort:  

I feel sooo much love while reading your article, i felt it with the way you decribe him and what a lovely poem he choose for you. i hope i will experience the wonderfull love that you both shared. If interested in knowing my love story you can check my article https://steemit.com/teardrop/@dangerousangel/what-it-is-like-to-be-in-a-long-distance-relationship

Thank you for your comment. I have read your blog, it is great.

@ginafraser I really admire your great passion for poems. Thank you for sharing all these lovely poems. I really enjoyed it too. The poem "A Special World" is very beautiful. I like every word of it but the last line really got me.

"And though at times a thread may break
A new one forms in its wake
To bind us closer and keep us strong
In a special world,where we belong"

I'm not really good at writing but your post reminds of the poem I wrote a long time ago, that was the only poem I ever wrote I think. I'll share it here on Steemit when I find it.

Thank you for your loving them so much. "The special world" is from my late American husband. At that time I tried to learn English from him, I asked him to record some article or poem to me, he chose this poem.
He also left some oral English recordings, cooperated with his Chinese school teachers. Later I will post one of them in Steemit, thus Steemit readers can believe that he really had ever lived and worked in China, what I wrote here is true! God took him too early, otherwise he could do a lot of things in China. He was invited to teach English in Chinese college, too. You have no idea how honorable it is to be a Chinese college teacher/professor!
It is true that China is a closed country, most of foreigners fear to come to China, only a few foreigners take risks to enter China, but once they arrive in China, a lot of chances of English-teaching job wait for them...
I plan to continue to write how I took risks to enter Nigeria, pitifully it is a hard work.
How I spent money to buy a Nigerian tourist visa, How I chose the cheapest flight since I had not enough money, it is a long trip, no direct flight between China and Nigeria. Why I made up my mind to visit a completely strange country? Because I hate my late American husband's family refused to take risk to come to China, dealing with his funeral. But I also really feared to go to Nigeria lonely at the bottom of my heart at that time, now I understand them a little.
If I had a good pen, it must be a wonderful travelling blog.

I believe your life story @ginafraser and you are so lucky to have such a great man in your life. Your late husband had chose the perfect poem out of his undying love for you.

I can tell that you are such a brave woman. Your journey to Nigeria sounds really interesting! I'm not so familiar with the Nigerian culture, so what you will share about your journey in this country will be something new to me.

Yeah, He was a very kind and pure American scholar. It is my biggest dream come true to marry him.
I want to write my trip to Nigeria, but I don't know what time I can begin. The feeling is very shocked when you are surrounded by all Nigerian people. At the first time I know the plaits on African women's heads are all false. A completedly different world from China! But my Nigerian friend as well as his family and friends all treat me well.
It seems that in top Nigerian society, they follow English etiquette. Nigeria is a member of the British Commonwealth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16