In Defense of Love (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

------

I felt compelled to defend something important to me using verse. It is dedicated to my family.


Some say love is
Nothing but
A chemical reaction
To physical attraction

Like cocaine
Love’s the same
Lose it and feel
Near insane

That sexual desire
Is just a stimulation
For procreation
Not recreation

Animal brain
Taking control
Passing genes
The only goal

But I believe
Love isn’t simple
There’s much more
To be explored

Human beings
Are more complex
Than the findings
In a research text

Love is created
By the heart
Not in a lab
By someone smart

Loyalty, marriage,
Obedience, sex
These may be bought
But Love can not

You won’t find it
Sold in shops
Love is not counted
By dopamine drops

Love is free
It won’t be forced
We can’t program
Loves hidden course

Love’s like a quest
With great reward
For the daring souls
Who find the chest

Open it and
You will see
What true love
Can really be

Truely love
Does transcend
True love
I will defend


I hope you enjoyed my work! I haven't written a poem in over 20 years until today! Don't forget to follow me @getonthetrain
I felt compelled to write it after a comment left by a reader in my previous post. The comment was left by @kyriacos which got me to reading his blog until I came to a post he made a week ago,and in that post he explained a research study that showed love and cocaine effects the brain in the same way under an MRI. He went on to reason that love is not an emotion, more like a disease or an illness in the way it affects us.
Sort:  

Upvoted! Great poem! I like it. :)

Much appreciated!

Thank you, glad you like it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71