A Repetitively Rhyming Writ

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Because of the ongoing challenge30days series I'm writing on Sustainability for Kids, there hasn't been much time for creativity or poetry writing. But I was able to pen a few lines for the Isle of Write's poetry curation initiative. Below is a 14-line poem in anapestic heptameter in one big chunky stanza with the following rhyme scheme:

A

In fact, this was a rather frustrating rhyme scheme and I wondered if I'd set myself an impossible task. But I managed to hobble something together with a maritime feel to conjunct with our little Steemit writing island. (Yes, I realize "conjunct" is not a verb. But it is now because... Shakespeare.) Oh, and occasionally the first anapest in a line will be missing an upbeat; just go with it.

And fellow poets: keep your eye out for this poem - if it appears as a comment under one of your works, that'll mean you've been curated with an invitation to be included in our Isle of Write poetry anthology! You can read more about that here.

island.jpg

"A Repetitively Rhyming Writ"

A hunter for treasure has sailed from our shores
on a fanciful frigate of might
and set off to find hidden gems of a poetic
nature 'neath cover of night.
Just this morning we heard, oe'r the roar of the waves,
that a poem to curate's in sight!
Well, this poem in question is yours, so this writ
from the shores of the Isle of Write
is announcing deposit of five SBDs
in your wallet: we hope that's all right.
Our anthology's filled with the poems of Steemit;
black ink on its pages of white:
and if yours is included we're sure of the loudest
applause that your words will incite!
We beseech you to navigate now to the Isle,
making haste as a bird soars in flight.
As you traverse the ocean you'll see our tall palms;
from your vessel, please safely alight.
@treasurehunter” you'll type to inform us you're here
and your ship is all moor'd nice and tight.
Then as soon as we can, we will ping you to answer
your questions both mammoth and trite,
and a verification of willingness we will
procure with a flourishing rite
saying you will allow us to publish your work
in this tome of the Isle of Write!
(Be assured that, as author, you will be retaining
your full and complete copyright.)

Follow this treasure map to the Isle of Write!


IOWMap-1080pColour.png

logo designed and created by @pegasusphysics

Sort:  

I love it. I think that's a really creative way to announce someone's post got curated. It's neat the Isle of Writers can help out poets and writers with a cool community.

I love it lol....It really rolls off the tongue! I would love to be able to come up with poems like this lol.

I'm surprised you could make such a poem while on a 30 day challenge and to top it off your poem is really well done! I enjoyed reading it.

This is truly awesome! You pulled it off flawlessly. I mean, I'm not edumactaed and all that, but in my very poetic opinion, that shit was bangin! Nice write, @geke.

lol - thank you @moeknows!

Seriously, you did a great job.

very good, I find this really interesting, although it looks a little complicated I think it can be achieved, good repetitive writing of rhymes, greetings @geke

Nice poem. It flows nicely. Look forward to more! Joy

When I originally got the comment on my blog, it wasn't formatted properly, so I didn't realize what this was.

I know you love meter a lot, geke, but this is what it is for! Great stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14