You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunset (Two Poems)

in #poetry6 years ago

Well, I'm not sure I'd say that in the second, the "protagonist" is an observer (and I'd pick "narrator"), in fact, I agree with you that the second is more impersonal, more detached, and I'd take it as far as to say that in the second, there is no narrator. There is no protagonist.

It's just a third person narrative.

In the first, there's definitely a call to action. Something is about to happen.
In the second, it's more of what this began as, painting an image.

So yes, I feel both add up to the right atmosphere, of a call to action, but with a heavier emphasis on the picture being drawn.

Though I'll ask, is it necessarily the Scarecrow that is the opposition in the second? Or is it the "key"? Or the field? Or the sunset? Or the entire vista your eyes see? Hmmm.

Sort:  

to me yes but only because it promised something and thus for me became the creator of the scene.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63875.92
ETH 2747.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65