Gabriel - Existential Prose

in #poetry7 years ago

I recently submitted a slam poetry piece to LoveJuice's submission contest, which put me in mind of the latest piece of poetry I wrote. A bit heavy, full of references.

an-angel-appears-to-balaam Gustav Dore Medium.jpg

I stand on mountaintops,
Waiting, still waiting,
For them to fulfill their part
Of the Covenant.

I rain down fire,
But some describe me as being of Water.
I was supposed to protect the children,
But in my name they kill and are killed.

I take it all on me,
It’s all my doing,
All that is to be praised, all that is holy,
And all that went wrong, went downhill,
Down them mountains.

There is no one else to blame
When you hold them all inside your head.
Your call, your game,
Angst; existential dread.

My wings are caught within my chest,
I am too big inside.
Hurt is the name of the game.
I can’t spread my wings.
I cannot fly.

(I wish I had free will,
So I could wish to die.)


The image in this post is An Angel Appears to Balaam by Gustave Doré, 1866, and was taken from Wikiart.Org.

Sort:  

Oh my, yes!

I do hope you post more poetry to this blog. I love the almost allegorical feel to this.

Glad you liked it :)

Sent you an invite to a writers' channel on Discord, where you may find many more pieces to your liking. I also wrote another piece there that I may upload at some point.

Pleased to make the acquaintance!

Thank you kindly. :)

I don’t know why there aren’t much more comments...??
I very much connected to the question of free will .
one of the biggist researchers have conducted is called “connected “, check it out , it explains how everything we do is a result of our surroundings, I believe it’s true , but even they after all that research say that they still believe there is a free will but they just didn’t find it .
By the way I write poetry as well check me out

Hey Tal, thanks for dropping by!

I don’t know why there aren’t much more comments...??

It's generally not worth thinking or worrying too much about it. These things happen, especially with poetry pieces.

Question of free will.

I have a degree in Sociology, so yeah, that's very much the case. And we're made of so many interactions that it's hard to reduce things to anything. If anything, I think Emil Durkheim's "On Suicide" is one of the best researches to read on the matter, and it was also seminal in the field of Sociology.

And well, at some point it becomes how you define free will, and the fact people are likely to believe it exists because it's a tough pill to swallow, if you think it doesn't.

By the way I write poetry as well check me out

Will do!

I believe that our free choice is our attitude , how we choose to feel towards the situation, if we are thankful to the opposite, even tho that’s not completely free

Heavy indeed, yet lovely also. Glad to have run into you!

Thank you, unlike my non-fiction writing, I'm quite self-conscious about my poetry and fiction, so this means a bunch <3

I love the opening line... I stand on mountaintops
It breaks the sense of the temporal... I see versions of the Gabriel standing here, there... in succession and all at once
Nice device to give an angel

Thank you :) Also related to Moses going up Mt. Sinai to receive the Tablets of Testimony, Muhammad receiving the Qu'Ran, the post-Flood Covenant, and such. The Old Testament sure liked its mountains.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Thunder_God from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

© Guy Shalev 2009.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41