Alone, a poem

in #poetry6 years ago

So a last minute substitution for a chapter today, and an announcement. I'll no longer be posting chapters from Yasht up here. I have enjoyed doing it, but I do want to try and get it published someday.

So, anyway, I'm not going anywhere, I'll still be posting poems and pop culture stuff!


It carves a lazy swath,
down and up at once,
slicing through the silence.

Spurred on by its agitation
I revolve anew
in too literal a sense.

I crave another useless day,
sweetened by degeneration,
and of things long left undone,
but never forgotten.

It speeds now to a fever pitch,
a soaring squeal.
As if I and it were locked
in some great battle that I did not heed.
Armed essentially in poise,
its intentions remain unknown,
or, at least, irrelevant.

Unconcerned, I wipe my drying eyes
(the only casualty of its assault)
and reason with myself
for one last push

to convince myself
that momentary sorrow
is no replacement for joy.

So I rise,
driven upward by a shadow of a will,
a gesture of directed force,
propelled me on and out

while it still sat,
alone but beating hard,
against a wall of absence.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Fromage from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77