ONE WITH THE LAND (All are of the dust, and all turn to dust again)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


ONE WITH THE LAND


I'm a slave
Imprisoned in a cage of my own making
Unable to ever break free
Once filled with dreams of wonder
I'm suffocating under years of tears
It's a nightmare from which there's no awakening
Bills to pay
Mouths to feed
Constantly placating
A wife's selfish greed
No friends to lean on
Leykis and Dare
Philosophies more than people
Are the only ones left that care
My spirit's depleted
I was once strong and proud
Now withered and shriveled
I'm a man that's defeated
Just a grain of sand
Invisible as time passes me by
Until I'm once again one with the land

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.




abstract-3166168_960_720.png

Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64