Marriage - The Roller Coaster Of LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Alt

Marriage - The Roller Coaster Of Life


Marriage is a funny thing
It is a road collectively so often traveled
Yet it's course and destination are never quite charted
It is wrapped in adventure until thoust departed


Like a roller coaster
Achievements and milestones build steadily
Then aggravation and disappointment set in
Dropping the floor from beneath your feet hastily


Suddenly turned upside down
Twisted round like a corkscrew
Veering off course jarring to and fro
Then coming to rest at a depressing low


Why do we do it?
What is the point?
Certainly love is not the rarest of comforts
Numerous are the lonely waiting for marriage to anoint


Alt


Surely finances are not the incentive
As once a couple unites
Children will then soon follow
Leaving your purse empty and hollow


As the ride slows and nears its end
My confidence in my marriage grows strong
As I look to my partner in life next to me
A time for reflection that doesn't take long


The answer becomes quite clear
And I admit to myself
That dying alone and being forgotten
Is my biggest fear



Free In Thought, 2016

Alt


Alt

This post is 100% POWER UP. Go Steemit!


All images are from Pixabay.com and are CC0 Public Domain

Sort:  

Children leaving your purse empty and hollow... I love it!
It's so true, for I have two.

I have three. Between feeding them, daycare and paying for after school activities, there's just enough left over for the mortgage and bills. 😀

I know that feeling. Not the feeling of having three kiddos, but barely having enough left over.

Fantastic poem, Thank You! :)

Regarding the significance of marriage, are you at all familiar with the biblical imagery surrounding it? Paul the Apostle had some interesting things to say about it, which I mention purely FYI...

Thanks for sharing. I read the passage over and can't honestly find anything I'd disagree with. I think the institution of marriage has had some troubles in the last 50 or so years. What Paul is saying seems to have been the norm (very true and yet a mystery still) for quite a number of generations previously no doubt.

Men should no doubt treat women in the highest regards. But women are not free from duty either. As they say, it's a two way street.

You may also like my most recent post here: https://steemit.com/poetry/@freeinthought/she-loves-me-she-loves-me-not

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51