Anxiety and Me-Poem #1 "Not a Big Deal"

in #poetry6 years ago

Hiya Steemit!

My name is Kim--and I have anxiety. I'm pretty sure I've had it my whole life, but I was diagnosed while in University. Sometimes, I get stuck in my own head. I'm not currently medicated, but I was for a good chunk of years.
I try to be really open about it to help end the stigma surrounding mental health. That being said, sometimes being open about my anxiety makes me anxious! But I keep trying. I've been working pretty hard to address some stuff lately. I find that whenever I'm processing a lot of junk, I end up writing poetry.
There is a fabulous writing community here on Steemit, especially when it comes to poetry. I'm admittedly nervous about posting poems, but I thought I would give it a shot anyways. If it were one of my students, I would say "What do you have to lose? Be brave!"
To make me feel better, I'm starting with a silly one! I read a lot of Shel Silverstein, so this is kind of inspired by his stuff. Also, it's about my dog and I'm including a picture. If you hate the poem, look at his face. What's not to love?
I'm going to try to post more poems, but I may chicken out. If you are a poetry writer, please post one of your poems in the comments! I would love to give it a read. Thanks!

Love, Kim

Not a Big Deal

My dog has anxiety
And so do I
But I’m still a nice person
And he’s a nice dog-guy.

A little extra assurance
Is what we require
Just so we know
When things are not dire.

My dog, he gets growly
His hackles--they rise
Me, I start hiding
My attempt to minimize.

If I’m real small
You won’t see my struggle
If my dog gets big
The danger won’t double.

Except quite often
The threat isn’t real
So we have to tell ourselves
It’s not a big deal.

IMG_0418.jpg
Chewie as a young man

Sort:  

Love it! The poem and the shot of the Chewster!! It's so brave of you to share your anxiety experience... that's hard to do!

He is a very handsome boy, I think. He was in that awkward not quite a puppy not quite a man phase here, though.
And thanks! I think I was maybe more nervous about the prospect of posting more poetry than I was talking about my anxiety in this instance. I try to be pretty open so my students can see that it isn't something to be ashamed about, but it can definitely be challenging.
Being an adult, man... who needs it? :P
I thought your post about your artist struggles was pretty brave, also.

Keep making poetry! I love seeing people create! It's so important! I've always tried to encourage Chris to write more too.
Thanks- I find it super hard to put the art struggle into words. My brain is a silly place.
Man, adulting is hard, isn't it?!

I love reading everything Chris does, and struggle to keep my enthusiasm in check. I don't want to be that pressure-y girlfriend that's like WRITE MORE YOU TURD, but sometimes it's hard.
There is a Woody Allen quote (don't much like him, love the quote) that goes "In my next life I want to live my life backwards. You start out dead and get that out of the way. Then you wake up in an old people's home feeling better every day. You get kicked out for being too healthy, go collect your pension, and then when you start work, you get a gold watch and a party on your first day. You work for 40 years until you're young enough to enjoy your retirement. You party, drink alcohol, and are generally promiscuous, then you are ready for high school. You then go to primary school, you become a kid, you play. You have no responsibilities, you become a baby until you are born. And then you spend your last 9 months floating in luxurious spa-like conditions with central heating and room service on tap, larger quarters every day and then Voila! You finish off as an orgasm!"
That'd be alright.

The world’s smallest dog breed is the Chihuahua.

Such a nice poem and a cute dog! Living with anxiety is not easy. To top that off you work in a profession that can stress you out. It is so brave of you to speak out and share your struggles. More people need to have your courage! I know that I am proud of you for it and respect all that you go through.

That’s so nice of you to say @broncofan99 🙂🙂 it can be tough but I’m lucky that I have people around me that give me space to be who I need to be or do what I need to do to be happy and healthy. I just wish everyone could say the same.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 00:20:40
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 251.65/200.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 54
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.37 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 66884.44
ETH 3466.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19