I tell myself I know

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


Photo taken by me, after a spring snow

I tell myself I know

I tell myself I know
Sky shines thru trees focused on
Point of focus shatters, corners draw up
These trees look the same as every time
Eyelids slide down, my geometry, sacred
I tell myself I know
Face in face to face we sit together close
Our short lives in our pupils fusing together
Detail sharp and deep as it could go
Almost to the breaking point but not quite
I tell myself I know
Release muscles and lie back into grass
Ants crawl endlessly into holes in the skin
Feeling now, here, one with all other things
Memories slip. brief glimpses of the whole
I tell myself I know

I tell myself I know

Sort:  

Beautiful photograph with a beautiful poem.

Face in face to face we sit together close

This line reminds me of a DMT trip I had, very interesting use of imagery.

Release muscles and lie back into grass
Ants crawl endlessly into holes in the skin

I really like your use of imagery and the way you paint your words.

The flow was a little choppy, but I felt it added to the poem rather than detracted.

Thank you for sharing!

And thank you for your reply. This was written recalling a experience that happened in a blur of excitement.

Also, on the feedback on the choppiness is taken with gratitude! It was not intended, but I'm glad it is appreciated :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44