Out to lunch

in #poetry6 years ago

"I'll take the ox-tongue with rice"

then I looked up and said "wow!"

because to my surprise

the waitress was a cow

I looked down at the menu again

murmuring "forget the beef ma'am"

"how 'bout some bacon and eggs?"

"we are out of eggs," she said, "and the owner is a pig on top of that"

"Okay, so what is your soup of the day?"

"The chicken soup," she said, "with lettuce"

But, if I correctly recall when I came this way

the doorman who is a cockerel, might take offense

"Holy cow" - "Yes Sir"

"Do you have a seafood dish?"

"Yes we do, but, just fyi

the dishwasher is a fish."

Alright then, is anyone else in this joint

a vegetable of some sort?

I'll go with a salad if not

Good choice, finally, I thought

As I looked over at the kitchen and I said "what?!"

the cook, a cabbage head, was shaving his carrot.

Sort:  

Congratulations @eruci! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @eruci! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70