A Case For Quiet

in #poetry7 years ago

case-for-quiet.jpg


The single greatest force on the planet is not love,
but a mind that is UNDIVIDED.

This is so, because a divided mind is not cohesive
enough to discern, and dispense, love.

Most modern minds are scattered, fractured, distracted.

But if you want a seat on YOUR throne...

if you want to hold and use YOUR scepter...

if you want the deep pleasure only available from

your inner blaze,

you gotta get QUIET.

In the 17th century, the catholic church actually deemed 'quietism' heresy.

And today, every electronic screen -- and the controlling agendas behind them --
does an excellent job at keeping the world in a frantic and frenzied state:

Bread and circuses. || Media manipulation. || Mind control.

And if those formidable forces aren't enough,
there are at least 14 miles of additional excuses
as to why you can't get there. To quiet.

And THAT is the "On" switch, to our collective crazy.

This ain't (just) for ancient, Asian dudes in robes.

This ain't (just) for cloistered nuns in monasteries.

Quiet IS PRECISELY FOR the busy, and the bored,
the rich, and the broke. The fulfilled, and the frightened.

With quiet, you establish and maintain,
A STRONG CONNECTION WITH YOURSELF.

Without quiet, you constantly amalgamate
the voices and ideas of those around you.

Without quiet, when and how do you sort
through the words and wishes of others,
and find YOUR OWN words and wishes?

Before I designed a lot of quiet in my life,
I always hankered for it.

I am so grateful that I followed that hankering.
Made sacrifices to honor it.
And found everything I ever sought.

That is the priceless truth, that noise keeps hidden.

@erikaharris

Sort:  

This a a beautiful post.

It's not only what you describe and bring forth about Quiet, but one can also feel the intention and mind-state you had when you wrote this, the serenity and kindness.

This is much needed now more than ever. Keep doing this for all our sakes. Thank you.

Thank you so much for receiving it, @sirrius. 💗

Beautiful!

There is much noise in the world because people are afraid of "Being." Instead, we carry around eternal internal chatter revolving around "Being _______."

That wretched blank, waiting to be filled in. Maybe I am weird, but I was always at my happiest just "being" and not having to worry about putting something meaningful-important-socially-acceptable-impressive in the blank spot.

"I am!"

"You're what?"

"No, I just am..."

"Nonsense! You must be SOME-thing!"

In a sense, that's where the lies begin...

HaHa! I love this, and laugh with this, @denmarkguy.

I've often thought, "How 'vegetative' am I... to just enjoy BEING so much?!"

What some call boring, I call bliss. Vegetative. The plants get it. 💚🌱🌵🙌

I wish I could remember which of the great (classic) motivational speakers talked about the need for "silence, stillness & solitude" but I can't - and Google was no help (except to point out that Eckhart Tolle also spoke on the need for this).
To lower the tone, I'm ashamed to say that when you said "if you want a seat on YOUR throne..." my first thought was about the need to be "Master of your Domain".
Then I got to your next line "if you want to hold and use YOUR scepter..." and I was just hanging my head in shame.
On the other hand I guess I deserve brownie points for managing to connect a 17th century heretical practice with a 90s sitcom?

LOL! You do, indeed, deserve brownie points for that, @lensessions. :-)

Yes, by no means is this a new message. It is perennial. And now, thanks to you, comical!

Beautiful post! Reminds me of that ideal state that I wish I had more of... btw, i took the liberty of using your anarchist page divider image on my story because it rocks, hope you don´t mind!

Help yourself, @wolfenlord! Glad you like it, thanks. :-) I'm looking forward to getting into one of your stories.

While, there is an element of fact in you assertion, it is not entirely true that quietness supersedes love, you can not have an undivided mind when not in love. Love is the greatest, it gives quietness and serene environment.
Well done for the post

That is so beautiful, @princeso. Thank you for taking issue with that line. I wrestle with it, too! lol

While I agree that love IS, I could not fully access it, until I got quiet. It was there all along, supremely. And a chronically distracted state kept me from it. Quiet brought me straight to it.

This might be similar to "Which came first, the chicken, or the egg?"

First Let me follow you, it is the chicken first, though others can still argue egg. You can be quiet without calm and undivided mind. But you can not find love be in love be loved without enjoying peace, quietness and undivided mind.
The case with you, I guess is that you find love when in quiet. So you so valued the quietness .
I enjoy your conversation.
Look forward to enjoying more time with you on other issues of life.
Cheers

The case with you, I guess is that you find love when in quiet. So you so valued the quietness

No. It is much MORE than this, @princeso.

I believe there are both powers, and Powers, that FEED on the distracted states of society. At large.

There is an undeniable, and disturbing pattern that shows most modern people cannot find/do not take a quite moment to save their life. Their sanity. Though if you asked most, nearly all would -- in great desperation -- proclaim their need of some peace and QUIET.

So this goes beyond my individual persona(lity), and preference for a certain thing (though I did include that personal piece, yes.)

Rather, it is meant to serve as a warning shot -- delivered in a poem -- that THE WHOLENESS of our minds is under attack because the wholeness of our mind enables us to see and know what we could not before, including love.

Oh, I enjoy your conversation too, @priceso!

Looking forward to more.

Silence is the echo of wisdom.

Great post. One of my dreams is to live in a quiet place. I can only imagine the things I'd accomplish. Keep up the Great Work. Cheers :)

Thank you, @steeminganarchy. :-) I wish you speed in the attainment of your dream!

I had never heard that about quietism. It makes sense that they wouldn’t want you to think too much and figure out all of their lies.

It makes sense that they wouldn’t want you to think too much and figure out all of their lies.

⬆️ 100% @stillwatersart!

hey i am follow you plz follow me i am begginer

Hey, @bhuvanbam. welcome! I am happy to give you a tip!

If you want to attract followers, the best way to do so is:

(1) create interesting, valuable content; and

(2) show interest in others' content.

The way to REPEL followers, is to leave the sort of comment you have left... with your hand out, offering nothing.

Not trying to be rude, but helpful.

Very well said

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52