The Worst Cliche

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

It seems we’ve become
the worst cliche,
megalomania,
the order of the day

land of the free,
home of the highest
incarceration rate...but,
yeah, no, everything’s great!

A manchild at the helm,
eyes filled with deceit
fat-fingering that button
ever ready to Tweet

we’re all lost in the
wake of his shit storm,
illiteracy in the White House
is, for us, the new norm.

Blinded by the darkness
of this orange-headed beast,
nothing but a rich bully
who loves to prey on the meek

The only positive in this all
might be a lesson learned...
if not, bring the marshmallows
to roast while New Rome burns.


(Gifs compliments of Giphy.com)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Trump will be really happy to read this hahah

Haha. This new norm sucks. But your poem is great!

Thanks, Doug! It's pretty sad when the highest expectation you have for your President is that he doesn't blow up the world. That's the point I see so many people at these days.

Thanks, @ericvancewalton for this light-hearted piece re: a heavy subject.

Re: "The only positive in this all/ might be a lesson learned..." I tend to agree.

When I despair, I tell myself that perhaps Chump will Make America Great, again, unwittingly, by bringing about a Reevaluation of Values.

The peaceful, powerful Women’s March on Washington, DC, dwarfing in number those who attended his inauguration and echoing throughout the US as well as the world, seems to suggest that it might be safe to hope for change, again. Heartening, too, to witness impassioned rallies in airports throughout the country welcoming immigrants and protesting Trump’s unconstitutional executive order or “Muslim Ban.”

Further, provoked by his administration’s disregard for science and denial of climate change, we saw the Scientists’ March. The list is long and it goes on. For our part, as writers, we do what we can to promote peace and offer up our form of literary activism.

In solidarity, Yahia

Well his followers are not coming around to reality and may never. At this point I think our only hope is to get the 80+ million of non registered voters to do that and get the disenfranchised registered voters to the polls. With the gerrymandering and voter suppression laws .. we simply have to over whelm the polls. I think our turn out numbers never hit more than like 40% even in a presidential election year. Sad

Thanks @yahialababidi! We're in total agreement about the positives that are coming about from his Presidency. I really hope it wakes people up here in the U.S. Hard to believe we have two more years. It feels like he's been in office for 10 years already.

Sigh Yes, Time crawls when we're not having fun! Hope we wake up, and soon...

Hello @ericvancewalton, I read this poem with great interest. And while aspects of it were rather straightforward and visceral. I was captivated by what was not said.

As a writer, you know that much of what is written is quite subjective, and it is not that the reader might not have his/her finger on the pulse. It might be a fact that the pulse is different and hence has a different beat. And therefore, my interpretation might be completely different from what you are trying to convey. But, nonetheless, I hope you will appreciate this if you take time to read this response.

As a non-American I, like much of the world outside of that land, continue to watch this DT phenomenon in disbelief and might I daresay concern.

Where did this new normal come from? Was it not already there? Did this new normal spring up from the dung heap of this crumbling New Rome?

DT did not get to the Oval Office by a coup. He was voted into office by millions of like-minded Americans. He did not fall from the sky. He was raised by American parents. Attended some of America's best institutions and was mentored by some of America's best minds.

As such, (and I assume your poem hints at this) did not this normal exist in some form, and Mr. Trump is merely that entity that has given a voice to this new normal in New Rome?

This made me laugh, not sure if I was supposed to feel otherwise, but laughing is good right now so...

Will I be in a horrible minority if I say the new norm is not exactly new (GWB) but it's only now with the very obvious man child at the 'helm' it's become so noticeable?

New Rome indeed.

The idea of Trump "fat-fingering" the twitter button got me to laugh...but then I remembered how awful it is and got sad :(.

I had that same range of emotions while writing this.

I can sense the pain and anger, in the poem although it's a bit direct the simple English applied makes it very beautiful to read, I also enjoy the world play and imageries.
It's a fantastic poem buddy

I'm glad you enjoyed it. This was just a total stream of consciousness poem. Thanks!

Nicely written poem, A manchild at the helm,
eyes filled with deceit
fat-fingering that button
always ready to Tweet
loved this line the most lol, signed up for the newsletter. Cheers

Thanks for your support! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

The best ‘sad’ thing I ever read today! I wish more people would be so open and to the point about this subject. Have a great day!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed!

That gif makes me unconfortable xD

Yeah, me too. It's so ridiculous it's hard to stop watching it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82