MEMORIES OF THE SUN (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

Smothered
in this deep
winter bleakness

as the sun
walks away from us,
an ancient journey
to be traveled
once again

but I will hold fast
in my memory the days
when it seemed
close enough
to pull from the sky
and whisper to

I remember
each moment
it warmed us

and the wondrous twilight
when we squinted
as it danced broad
along the water’s edge

these memories
of the sun,
they will offer me solace
through the gathering darkness

as we patiently await
the lushness of the equinox
with a certain feigned indifference
that fools no one.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at 11AM CST!


To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

eautiful poem, beautiful photography, invite us to reflect, to make an examination of conscience, ideal to conquer peace espiritu.brillante congratulations post

Beautifully said~

Thank you, @christoryan! I appreciate it.

Feeling this so much today with the cold damp dark days...

I was too, it's been the same way here in Minnesota. We're having a traditional Fall and I'm already going through withdrawal from the lack of sun/warmth.

feels far too early! I'm finding that if I take a morning walk the weather bothers me less - today at least it worked ;-

It's sunny today in Texas though a very crisp wind that cuts through the skin. Thanks for the poem--perfect for this day@

Wonderfully written. The words really resonate deeply.

Gotta love stanza 3! Also, posting my first short story today, if you have time take a look.

Thanks, @beginningtoend! I'll check out your work!

Praise the sun!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65