I Feel Like Andy Dufresne (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Losses loom so much
larger than gains,
I feel like Andy Dufresne
in these auspicious hours

legs bounce,
eyes twitch,
palms itch
as this clock ticks

but, soon, will
come the day
when we hear
the internal music
instead of outside noise

I can feel it
so deep down
in my bones that
I’ve already packed
my bug out bag,
stuffed full of dreams

My spirit has been caged...
existed in fear, surrounded by rage,
each day reborn just the same,
I feel like Andy Dufresne

It’s been a long road,
there’s been so much to unlearn
and treacherous bridges to burn
but here we stand on the precipice,
the pivot point where our fortunes shift
for the rest of our days
all we’ll taste is freedom,
I feel like Andy Dufresne.

(Gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Awesome Eric! I love this, very clever and a great film to reference. :-)

My favourite bit

I can feel it
so deep down
in my bones that
I’ve already packed
a bug out bag stuffed
full of dreams

Cg

Thank you, @cryptogee! I really appreciate the kind words.

Nice poem. It has an interesting flow on it.

Thanks, I appreciate it.

Isn't that the truth! Love that line.

nice poetry
I can feel it
so deep down
in my bones that
I’ve already packed
my bug out bag,
stuffed full of dreams
amazing hear touching.

Welcome Dear my pleasure.

Ah man, great poem. Super cool idea too.

Thanks, this is my favorite film of all time.

Andy Dufresne...... went through a river of **** and came out clean. It is a great movie. I've probably seen it ten times.

I've seen it nearly as many times. The script is pure genius.

rs and upvote for you....

I’ve already packed
my bug out bag,
stuffed full of dreams

lovely

Thank you! I have a messenger bag I take to work every day...tucked in an inside pocket is my passport. It comforts me in some small way to know that, if I want to, I could go to the airport, buy a ticket, and be gone.

Hilarious! What happened to the Dufresnes? Lol.

Nice poem my friend.
Did you see the latest steemit news?
Steem token on jaxx and wish for prosperity for all who are seeking

Thank you! Yes, I did see the news! It's great news for our platform and currency!

Yes, so much happening.

Amazingly written! Very thought provocative. Big fan of your work :D

It’s been a long road,
there’s been so much to unlearn

I appreciate it @isteemit! Thanks for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28