Deeper (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

That fall,
before the snows came,
the bees buzzed
in spite of us
and nature, it still
danced its magic

something deep
within us knew
that life would
never be the same
yet we closed our eyes
and soaked up
the rays of the sun
as though we wanted
to gather them
to hoard in a high cupboard,
to feast upon
in some midnight hour,
our superpower against
the gathering darkness

I snickered
at the thought
but the only choice
was to endure
the worst of what
was to come
and let it change us
in ways we could not know...
to learn, to grow
and develop
a deeper appreciation
for the warmth of the sun.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

Did you miss the last post about the exciting new project that I'm involved in? If so Click Here to see Steemit's very own @andrarchy get a thermal tattoo.

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

I love the last section/sentence @ericvancewalton. It's very inspiring to me as I'm fighting through some difficult situations at present. I'll follow your blog and look forward to viewing more of your work. Take care.

Thanks and I'm sorry to hear about the challenges you're working through! I appreciate your support!

Beautiful Eric! A welcome dose of inspired composition. Thanks for the reminder that words have a deeply profound effect.

Thanks for the kind words, my friend!

Very beautiful poem about the beauty of fall heading towards winter to longer nights and darker hours. When I read your poem, I thought about life and how life sends us different challenges in day to day events. No two days are alike. And then your description about the change from fall to winter gave me an aha moment about even the seasons give us different beauties and different challenges. I realized that life is meant to give us contrast so we can appreciate everything we experience in life, whether good or bad. Life pushes us to grow and learn each day. Thank-you for your beautiful poem. It makes one reflect and think about the constant forward movement of time. I hope you are doing well with your project. Please take care! :D

Thank you for your comment and I'm sorry for the late reply! The project is coming along nicely but has taken me away from regular posting and commenting for a while. We'll have much more to share with you all very soon. I hope you are well! Did you see the eclipse where you are?

I always can sense your kind thoughts so please don't worry about being late. I know how busy you are! You are so special because despite this fact, you make time to comment back to all the others as well. That is a true measure of a good person who practices what he/she preaches. Your positive flow really spreads goodness throughout. I am looking forward to the results of the project! Wishing you and all the others all the success and happiness which you all deserve!!! :D

Though we don't have snow here
I still appreciate the beauty of this ball of energy
Its warmth radiates me inside out
Lighting the darkness means
Giving life to the world, my world.
@ericvancewalton loving it!

Very poetic! Thank you!

This got me picturing impending war and the uncertainties of life at such times. Or maybe that's just the news i was watching earlier.

You were one of the only ones to catch that undertone, @lordmok. This was the dual meaning of the poem! Great job interpreting that!

Wow, thank you. I feel happy with myself now.

Your style of poetry is very easy to follow. I like to do that too. Also the photo goes very well with the words. Upvoted and followed.

Thank you, Rosa! I really appreciate it!

The way the sun is sparkling and dazzling round the tree got me feel paradise on earth...i love your poetry dude!

So glad you're enjoying it, @emex. Thank you!

the worst of what
was to come
and let it change us
in ways we could not know...
to learn, to grow
and develop
wow beautiful my friend here is a precious gift for you i hope you would like it :)

Very cool! Thanks so much for the kind words and the image, I like it!

thanku so much for liking it <3 you are really so kind person :) <3

Enjoyed, some great lines, especially, bees buzzed in spite of us.

Very high praise coming from a talented poet such as yourself. Thanks!

Treasuring the last vestiges of warmth while the sun smiles - it's beautiful Eric.

Thank you so much, man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60910.03
ETH 3358.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47