Completely (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

It never fails, each time I travel I’m hit with a wellspring of inspiration. This trip to New York City has been no exception. Doug, Chris, and I were having a celebratory lunch after an amazing writing session this past week. As we were chatting over delicious Japanese food I glanced out the window and saw this:

My mind didn’t process the quote as words at first so I glanced away. Then my curiosity got the best of me and I looked again. This time I took the time to work through the irregular line breaks and compressed space between the sentences to decipher what it said. I loved that this technique forced me to slow down, it was ingenious.

This inspired me to write a completely new poem using a similar technique. Here it is and I hope you all enjoy it...completely.

Yours in the chain,

Eric


Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

This is magic! And inspired!
(And that Japanese food was great too!)

I love Japanese food and Japanese culture!

So do I, Quinn! I'd love to check out Kyoto at some point.

Yes well within a year or two we can plan a big @hardfork-series promotion event and trailer screening in Kyoto and Tokyo and get paid to play!

Thats how I roll, got some more good ideas (more importantly mojo to make things happen) whenever you guys want to brainstorm!

Thank you, Doug! That food was phenomenal! 😊

Nice work! I love the unexpected line breaks and the way all the lines are scrunched up together and overlapping. It really adds to the message of the poem. I'm sure that original street artist would be happy to know his work inspired a poem. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @erb! I can't wait to play around with this technique a little more. It's perfect for this age of distraction we live in. It really does force you to pay attention. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Definitely took me awhile of looking at your original photo to process what was being said. Seems like it worked as a fantastic inspiration :).

I love that you are using a technique to express the LESSON of this poem and NOT just the words to communicate that lesson.

I put communication as the utmost importance in my life because it is so powerful and there are SOO many ways to communicate with and without words. This poem is a perfect combo of using both techniques!

Love it!

Thanks, Quinn! I agree, communication is ultra important. So glad you enjoyed this piece!

you're right, the continuous letters DO alter the way I experience the words! beautiful and moving poem too that talks to my body as well as my mind.

Thank you, Ruth! I'm going to experiment more with this technique. Hope you had a wonderful day!

Wow it was an stunning way to start the way by reading your poem wonderful work and thanks for sharing !

A wonderful poem and it's amazing, my friend, that you took inspiration so unusually, just by reading this quote. How to say "Everything is brilliant, just" Thank you @ericvancewalton

Awesome and inspirational poem dear Eric

Thanks!

Wow!!! Yummy food With Poetry exelent Combo...You,r DoinG Good job I hope You Gone be a Great poet in future....beSt wishes i love these lines of your poem....dn,t give up and curiosity Is A power of a man Soo Research on your thoughts more dude...thanks for sharing...i will stay with you for more learning,writing and building my skills thank you again

@ericvancewalton As They Say : Fill You Paper With The Breathings of your heart :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74