Freedom in Sixty-Four Bars (An Original Poem)

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

5:30am wake up, shower,
coffee, buttered toast, and
So What streaming...

its call and response,
like smoke, coaxes me
to some other
kind of consciousness.

A strange feeling settles
at two minutes thirty-three.
real-ity?
It's just some charlatan.

"You've been a harlot, son."
the notes say, "You've sold
your best years for a song."

By three minutes twenty-six
Mr. Davis had me transfixed,
I was living 2/7ths of a life.

Struggling through the mires
of a Monday-to-Friday strife
for such a small slice

but who am I to whine?
it's taken such a long time
but...so what?
I've just found freedom
in sixty-four bars.

~ Eric Vance Walton ~

About This Poem: Music, when it’s really good, and the moment is exactly right, has a way of stirring your soul in ways nothing else can. Whenever I’m feeling stuck in life or just down in general, Miles Davis’ music always sets me free. It's difficult to see the solution to a problem or obstacle with the same mindset that created it. Sometimes to find the answer you must simply switch your mind to another channel and everything becomes crystal clear. I hope you've enjoyed this.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)

In Gratitude,


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Hi Eric, truly poetry with deep meaning. Sometimes I often find it difficult to interpret words in poetry. Because I don't have a poet's soul ... I think it's poetry about freedom. Then what is the meaning contained in 44 bars? maybe about someone who feels comfortable in a bar. But I don't like the bustle of the bar. I prefer the quiet nature. Have a nice day, sir.

Thanks Eliana! By "bars" I'm referring to the way the music is written (definition here) I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

wow beautiful beginning of the day for me reading this wonderful that was keep sharing always great to read your stuff :)

Glad you enjoyed it! Thank you!

Beautiful piece of writing. I love how music inspires creative writing.

Thank you @jaynie! The two definitely compliment one another.

My pleasure! And yes, they certainly do!

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

nicely said

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39