Poetry Dice Entry: Night SweatssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

DQmVcpizTxmcT4A3KoVx4KkbjhaDzWciZdpTUVsuim3HzY7_1680x8400 (1).jpg
.......the dice were shaken, and fell, and beneath them lay a poem:

Hot sweat burning inside,
And I'm a child trying to get out.

Trapped in a closet on the fifth floor.
Happy or sad, I don't know.

Dense smoke, so I can't see.
I open toward the outside and crawl,

But the direction isn't clear.
The sign's been spun.

And still I crawl across the floor,
knowing my shell is too heavy.

The weight grows unbearable,
pushing the air from my lungs.

Tremors and terrors rise in the dark.
Eerily taunting me in pale gray light.

And there I expire; or do I sleep?
Still pinned to the floor.

Consciousness tangos from the room,
and strange mirages dance.

Fluttering like a million butterflies,
Streams of neon beams batter my brain.

And I awake, drenched in sweat.
......just a dream.

(Original work of em3, 8/4/17)

This is my entry into PDC3K Week 5 by @robyneggs
Thank you for this opportunity to challenge my mind!

DQmPw63xyG6uEe22JdA63YLeGnpSa7Qs5z9bHfD39QMoMu9_1680x8400.png

Steem is such a cool platform for crowd fueled artistic energy!! Can't do it alone? Do it with someone else! Two heads are better than one, and 3000 are the best! Have a look around and you can find something fun as well!
Are you a minnow looking for a 'school'? Checkout the minnowsupportproject and PALnet on the Discord app!!
Peace!
DQmNx8GkdyrEt6N542tfXddgHvRHChtNq1hmEJNx2iv68Ui_1680x8400.png (yunk art by @atopy)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by em3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

🔥The fire ran deep with #yunk 🔥

...wait are the dice yours? Did u actually just toss em and like made a poem from the icons? Oh wow....kudos!

Hello, MAP6 has started! please go to Minnows Accelerator Project - Six of the Best MAP6 [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]. Please look at the suggestions for all participants, especially creating a comment showcasing your best recent work. Good luck!

Thanks for your entry to the PDC3K this week! This is really good! Challenging your mind has paid off, I see. :-) Cheers and thanks again for playing along.

I felt the horror and dread as I imagined it to be a reality I have to say I was relieved to figure at the end it was all a dream :)

Really good poem, and a very different mood... tense and frightening. I loved this line: "Consciousness tangos from the room,
and strange mirages dance." Good luck! 😃

@em3 got you a $1.89 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@em3 got you a $1.89 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39