Once (a poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

I thought of something today
That you might not believe
Let me say it anyway
But first, let me offer an apology
For everything I couldn't be
That put the rift between us
Let time
Drive a wedge between us
No one would know
Looking at right now
How things once were
But then came time
And a troubled mind
Combined
To turn friends to strangers

image


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this poem you should check out my blog. If you write poetry too, check out #emojipoetry. It's whatever you want it to be.

Steem on!


Image sourced from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Aww!! This one touched me in a sensitive spot. (that's what she said xD)
But no seriously though, such a sad one! It's always a bummer to go from friends to strangers, especially when we care about that friend.

Great poem!

Lol, thanks! Over time I've come to realise that people change and grow apart and if you really want to reach out, that's what you should do but sometimes, it's just not meant to be.

Brilliant realization.

So true. You ever experienced this 'unbreakable' bond with an old friend? That no matter how life turns, you're still able to tap into those 'friendship' stores? Can't explain it. But I haven't seen my best friend in years, yet each time we talk it feels like just yesterday...

There are a few people like that in my life but every now and then I see someone after a long absence and they 'feel' like a completely different person to me. The funny thing is, I may have been the one to change and not them. Or maybe we both changed slightly in opposite ways.

"Or maybe we both changed slightly in opposite ways."

I would say that is what usually happens! On point with your answer, especially having the self-awareness to realize how much/little you've changed over time.

Cheers luv

Great post. You got my upvote :D

Thank you 😀!

Very nice, Will be looking forward to your posts.

Up-voted :-)

RightWithin

Thank you, 😁! If you've got the time, you should check out The EmojiPoetry Challenge.

Nice poem @elementm

Always doing your thing.

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46