Poetry: Ode to the American MotelsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

I'm not much of poet, but I am an avid journal-keeper. When just jotting down my feelings isn't quite enough I often feel compelled to find rhythm and rhyme. There's nothing quite as satisfying as feeling form and content click together into a finished piece, even if it's just something that makes me smile years down the road.

driving.jpg
(Me, driving. Photo Credit: @juddylovespizza)

I wrote this poem after spending six weeks on the road in America, falling in love with the in-between parts of my native land and also with my co-pilot, who I went on to marry. We rarely stayed anywhere more than a night, and we almost always stayed in the cheapest motel we could find at the end of the day. While we had a few hair-raising experiences, for the most part it was a pure and joyful escape.

houstonmap.jpg
(Me, navigating. Photo Credit: @juddylovespizza)

For your entertainment....

Ode to the "No-Tell Motel"

Oh Comfort Inn! Econolodge! Best Western and Motel 6!

You shine, awaiting in the night

the travelers who get their kicks

on 66, or 101, 95, into the sun

they drift, 'Back East' or flee 'Out West'.

Americans! As they are best

rolling down the asphalt paths

in search of freedom, peace,

or better yet, a place to sleep.

A tidy room, a well-made bed

a door that locks, a showerhead.

A gatekeeper who, with a smile

will secrets keep and without trial

assure you that you’ll rest awhile.

The “no-tell motel,” by the hour–

roach-infested, hairy shower.

“Don’t touch the sheets,” they squeak in fear

“something bad has happened here!”

So stay away, so much the better.

Those who follow to the the letter

Yelp reviews and guidebook warnings

may stay clean, but also boring.

The Hilton, Ritz or Paramount

five-star, louche, they care about

things like “service,” “luxury”

and internet that comes for free.

Yes, the sheets may be more soft,

the concierge is better quaffed,

but there’s a lot just to be said

for moments when the road has led

to places quite unexpected.

A late-night search, a dying phone

an empty tank, a driver’s groan

when all at once the sign appears–

“Oh thank god! Let’s just stop here.”

I have driven coast to coast

not once but twice, that’s more than most

in Boston, Austin, NYC

in Georgia and the Big Easy

in Fargo, Cameron, and LA

in towns I never meant to stay.

Motels have brought me warmth and peace

strange characters, to say the least

haunted rooms and mystery shops

dead cockroaches, ticking clocks.

“Smoking, if you have it please.”

Signs say, “Reuse! let’s save the trees!”

A world apart, these ghastly havens

a place where even those forsaken

by the world, no home, no plan

can rest a moment, find dry land.

The road is lonely, dark and deep

when miles have passed, it’s time to sleep

the motel beckons, blazing bright

and I know where I’ll stay tonight.

--Donovan, 2015

Have you ever stayed in a motel you can't forget? Ever driven across the USA, or your own home country? Have rhyming itch you love to scratch? Let me know in the comments!

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

For someone who claims low poetry skill you are pretty good. Better than most of the coffee house crap I've been subjected to. Got any music to go with it?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Hah, thanks! I am proud of this one, if I do say so. Wish I were the type to write music for it, it would make a good neo-folk tune :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @donovanpage to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wonderful poem/story. I do love the idea of travelling, as you say, through the in-between places. And the cheaper motel, whilst making the journey more affordable, also adds to the interest factor. I can imagine the stories you could tell after a few dozen of them.

very cute poem and exciting travel. I've done it quite a few times myself and it is definitely interesting. happy trails, your fellow STEEMengineer, Casandra

wow man this is great
Rythme and Rhyme ! you rock

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64