Nigerian Dream Part 1

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I was a boy

innocent and never knew much

full of life

colorful and bright as a lotus candle

the thrill of going to school with my voltron school school bag

equipped with my tool box launch pack

geared up with black binocular water bottle

white stockings to match my FUBU kicks

mum made me look cool

I was her hope, her future and her pride

it was the 90's

we loved to play outside

compete with our peers

the more cool stuffs you have the more popular you are

I once thought my watch stopped time

a daydream gone wrong

I was a boy's scout

always prepared

at least that is what the motto says

I was ready to do my duty to serve my country

A pledge I recite everyday

it became a part of me

consciously and subconsciously

the sound of the morning bell

the rush

the excitement of getting there first

one career fair day

I was asked

son what do you want to become

I paused for a second and thought

was inspired by the exploit of the great space explorers

an astronaut I said

I was rebuked

a little boy with hope and dreams

ironic giggles in the faces of all

broken inside

my dream died that day

a hope to put my country on the map

dashed away

a united and divided nation

there was reason to hope again

things fell apart when we lost June 12

rumors had it that an apple ended the life of tyrant

unexplainable euphoria in the atmosphere

in the streets that brightened the darkest corners

People were united

differences was set aside

there was hope again

I was a boy

Proudly Nigerian

With hopes of a better tomorrow

diligently ambitious to fulfill my Nigerian dream

U P V O T E

R E S T E E M

F O L L O W @dante31

if you enjoy what you read please drop
C O M M E N T S

                                                        *THANKS*

check out my other poems

https://steemit.com/poetry/@dante31/the-mirror
https://steemit.com/poetry/@dante31/t-h-u-r-s-d-a-y
https://steemit.com/poetry/@dante31/coma
https://steemit.com/poetry/@dante31/the-sister-happy-birthday-to-my-beautiful-sister

ImageSource: https://www.google.com.ng/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwju0sPf48TVAhXTySYKHeiYATEQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fthenews-chronicle.com%2Fthe-dream-of-a-nigerian-youth%2F&psig=AFQjCNErEHjnUi5tAtiHd1UnxSibModxIQ&ust=1502183465758361

Sort:  

WELCOME TO STEEMIT

I appreciate if you follow me !!!
Your comments are always welcome,
I will try to answer as much as possible.
Good luck with your trip in this communitas,
the best combination with all your friends is no exception, and upvote to your friends as much as possible, and the reverse.

follow me @good-joinned

Regards community steemit
Thank you

Nice one. I look to the trailing parts of it. Keep steeming, bro. I'm a fan.

Thanks boss...

nice peom brother..this i must say is creative..the only key to nigeria success is if we all together as one..leaving every form of tribalism and sentiments behind..keep it up ..upvoted and resteemed..please follow @alasco and i will do same

thank you very much man. We are all one together in this country .

We have to make this country great for our future generations.

Followed you back fam

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dante31 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This was really powerful, "my dream died that day"...I almost cried.

That is for joining our chat, you should hang out some time.

God bless you. God bless #Nigeria

Another great piece @dante31. The ease with wish you play with words is exceptional. More ink to your pen!

I appreciate the compliment

Actually, I was carried away by the way you designed the end part of the article, very beautiful one you have done there. Nice article...

I feel your flow@dante31. Truely the Nigerian Dream

Thanks Cash

Saluton @dante31 kaj bonvenon je steemit! Vivas niaj revoj!

Thanks man... nice Esperanto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65676.04
ETH 2615.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65