Sort:  

Mama knitting was priceless possession then, not for it's beauty though but for the sake of who it was coming from

Indeed. Aren't those the gifts we treasure the most.

To me this poem speaks a lot about the discrepencies in child rearing. One does so well because he was expected and encouraged to whilst the other was brought up to be like mother and make do with holes and repairs and patching together. I first thought it was about the discrepencies of gender, reading the 'you' automaticaly as female, but on second read I wasn't sure. Anyway, its strongly visual and I like it.

Thanks for reading. Yes, it's exactly about that. I hadn't thought about the possibilities of gender issues being reflected in this poem but it's a very valid reading.

I comply I still wear my grandma sweaters :) . Awesome work man :P I will include you for today's as this bandwith limit... is a blessing in disguise for you :) haha

Thanks for that. Glad you liked it. If you get the chance, check out my dragon poem for a laugh.

Very touching and inspiring... Your words reminded me of my mom and my brother when we were young playing around her while she's knitting and smiling at us. Thank you for bringing those nice memories to me.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading.

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #8 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Curation for Creatives post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

This was quite sweet. The poem wraps around me in a warm, fuzzy feeling like sweaters. My mother never knitted anything for us from scratch, but she always managed to fix everything. Every time I lost hope in my favourite article of clothing, I find it fixed next day, fitting better than ever. I swear to you, my mum is not a seamstress, she's just another one of those witches who uses magic.

The last stanza was a great end. A mixture of the past linked to the present. Your younger brother isn't so young anymore. And even though he's in a Ferragamo suit, you still both return to the mother who is welcoming and repairs your clothes (not only that, of course).

Just a tiny comment about punctuation - I am a freak for punctuation and flow and it could be just my thought, but I would add a comma after " your mother's". I think it's still correct, but my mind has some uncomfortable feeling about it. Not sure why. Why does my mind do this to me??

Thanks for the thoughtful reply and for pointing that out.

What a love 😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50