You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Comment on Poetry

in #poetry7 years ago

No Silence For You!!!!! :-) These are good tips. It is difficult to put into words sometimes how to react to a poem. I'm with you. I usually try to say something about the overall essence of the poem (as I see it) or a particularly well written phrase or verse.

For the most part, I've gotten over the "silence" treatment. My poems are mostly written for me, not necessarily public consumption so I don't worry overly much about feedback. That said, I've got about 100 poems I've written to post on here and I have yet to throw one out there....hmmmm. :-)

I will say that one thing that does bother me some is putting in thoughtful comments on peoples work and then not even getting an upvote back from them for taking my time to read their work. I'm not commenting specifically to get something back.....but at the same time, a little thank you would be nice. Just sayin'.....

Good work on the above.

Sort:  

Yeah, I've been there too. I reconcile that by considering the fact that they just don't know, or that maybe they are just saving their upvotes. If it happens multiple times, I take that as a "Golden Rule" statement: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. Maybe they don't want me commenting on their posts, and that's why they don't comment on mine. So I leave them alone for a while.

Just out of curiosity, why would a person "save" their upvotes? You get as many as you want, don't you? Yes, they start to lose a little of their "power" as you use them but....they're still worth something tangible to the people who receive them (and yourself) and their intangible value is probably worth even more to a lot of people.

Seriously, I'm basically new here. I signed up in August but I haven't really done anything until the last couple weeks. Is there a reason to save your votes?

It depends on your definition of tangible. A lot of folks like to give an upvote which will yield a monetary return. For you, any upvote greater than 1% will yield at least a penny currently. For me, that number is 8%. A few weeks ago for me, it would have been 60%. For someone just starting out, it may be 90%.

I get how the SP affects the monetary reward. My question is: why would you "save" an upvote? My understanding is you get 10 a day with full power and then they start going down 2% a crack. But don't upvotes help increase your rep? And isn't the point to try and encourage people to post quality material? Is there something specific I should be "saving" them for? I don't get it. Until the last couple days, I never upvoted my own posts. But then I realized it moves me up the comment ladder to where my responses might get read. I still try not to do it. I'd rather upvote good material from other people. I try and hit the "new" feed a couple times a day to see some newbies and give them a boost if they put some effort in.

Anyway, sorry...rambling. I really only want to know why you'd save your upvotes. For instance, and I'm not trying to come down on you but it's a good example......I upvoted your original post above and also upvoted your reply to my comment. I'm not begging for upvotes and regardless of monetary rewards, I'd just like to know why you wouldn't upvote my comment? I'm just trying to understand how this all fits together....

Well, I guess the best way to answer would be with a different question: Why wouldn't you recognize the pieces you love the most with your most meaningful upvote? I imagine your answer would be that you would want to recognize more artists with less of an upvote. And for you, that means that people get a .25 reward rather than a .49 reward. Your .25 reward is still enough to make you the 7th highest voter on this post which may be my best performing post ever. In my case it would be .03, which while still tangible is a lot less.

I don't typically upvote comments, but I agree that there are good reasons to do so. It is a way to reward people who comment on your stuff. However, I feel like the better reward would be to read, comment, and upvote their work instead. When I do that, I want to do it with as much weight as possible. Now, once you get over 500SP, you get a nifty little slide bar where you can lower the weight for comments, but I'm not there yet. So each vote is at 100% weight. Otherwise, I would do both.

I understand your point of view though. To tell you the truth, I hadn't noticed that you were upvoting my comments as I was replying to the rest of the comments in between work. I hope you didn't take any offense to it. If it's any consolation, I upvoted this comment with my full power. I will be upvoting first level posts a little later on to include the folks who have supported me here.

No, I was in no way trying to disagree with you or disrespect you. None of that. I was just trying to get some rationale behind why people may or may not vote. Like I said, I've just started here and with the markets the way they are, I moved some crypto into Steem. That had the unintended benefit of boosting my votes. I'm happy about it. But after spending a couple weeks here, I just think Steem is a good investment. And now I love the platform.

I was in no way offended. In fact, I was worried I might be offending you. :-) Anyway, thank you very much for replying to me. I now understand your rationale and it's a logical one to have. I personally still think that unless you're spending hours and hours on here, I'd just vote for what you like and don't worry about whether it's still 100% or not. As you pointed out, the difference between 100% and 50% of $.03 is pretty small. But at least I now understand your logic. So thank you again.

Incidentally, we're having this conversation because your original post was really very, very good. In fact, it was my first official resteem. :-) You've got one more follower. Steem On as they say....

It's all good, man. I was not offended at all. I truly enjoy the discourse. Last month my upvote was only worth .01, so I am still getting used to always having something tangible. I pretty much do upvote things that I like regardless of how much I have, but will abstain from voting in order to get close to 100%, but that usually means abstaining from steemit. But since I don't upvote comments, I try really hard to at least reply and acknowledge what people are saying to me.

And like I said, there are good incentives to be more liberal with your upvote. For one, it helps to build your network because people will remember you. It also makes sense from a monetary standpoint as you will earn more curation rewards. It is also probably a more efficient use of your influence over the reward pool.

I just like the idea of being able to give someone that 100% full power vote as a way to recognize really exceptional pieces. That will be a lot easier once I get past 500SP.

If we keep going we'll be at one word per line. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70