Windswept

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Windswept

original poetry


winter-1732882_1920-thumbnail.jpg


The wind's howl listens
To my thoughts—

It carries and scatters them
To the edge of sanity.

My mind is a windswept canvas.

My previous works, erased,
By primordial breath absorbed.

The vacuum removes me from myself
So I can stare through the nothingness
And see the illusion of my pride.

The empty vanity of survival
Is a tired chrone thinly smiling
At me across the campfire of achievement.

In my pallid hands, outstretched towards the flame
Can be discerned decisions ill and great:
The wrinkles as my sorrows shaped the same.

Still there lies a glint within the mother flesh's eyes
Which broth-like, warms the bones, renews,
And cobbles new my flesh disguise.

Placed in pyrostasis by hypnosis of her stare:
Wordless voice entoned by onrush
of the swift & fervent air.

Breath of sadness, breath of time,
Breath of aching life:

Breath that clears my cluttered thoughts,
Howling wind, elusive wife.


stars-2966501_1920 (1).jpg


retrovintage-trees (1).jpg
winter-1732882_1920 (1).jpg

Written by
@d-pend
12/13/17


winter-1732882_1920 (2).jpgstars-2966501_1920 (2).jpg


retrovintage-trees.jpg


Sort:  

Breath of the wind, breathing fire in the lungs of the hero. We are treating our past with future mistakes - the heart is a butterfly in a restless silence.
Love for poetry treats deep emotions, the soul raises spirit in the color of fatal beauty - we live in words - Eellent - Amaying -Incredible @d-pend

nice poetry writting in nature awesome.

This is a new, but nice style of poetry that I have not seen. What's it called? I'm just learning about free verse, limericks and sonnets, but have not seen this style before.

Hi @johnwjr7, thanks for your question and comment! I don't have a name for this form. I occasionally use formal structures such as sonnets with alternating rhyme scheme in iambic pentameter so I think there is a bit of that flavor here, mixed with free verse.

I am a mainly self-taught writer/poet so I do a lot of experimenting and combining of forms and approaches as they strike my intuition. I don't really have much education there, for example to write sonnets I just read Will Shakespeare's approach and emulated it without studying other kinds of sonnets. Don't really know anything about limericks at the moment. I'm assuming free verse just means open-ended, which is probably what most of my stuff is.

Thanks again for reading my work!

You are an excellent writer.

Thanks for the kind comment @innerstellar. I really enjoy the written form of expression, even with all its limitations.

Wow, just fantastic! Will read a few more times!

Blew me away with this one :)

Wow, thank you @bitcoinman! :D

Good one. I'm trying to imagine how this song/poem would sound if it was sung.

Hmmmm, interesting! I've never set any of my pieces to music. Nice idea.

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 7.04$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Wow! What a nice poetry? Pictures combination make it marvelous. Thanks a lot for such a good post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97