Why Must They?!

in #poetry7 years ago

WHY MUST THEY?!


odd-negative-whymust.jpg


Why must words
Be the shape they are
(Not as I want them to!)
Why could not they be a starfish
Or the drops of morning dew?

Why must they be boring
Lines and curves and every such,
If I made language I should think
It wouldn't quite repeat so much!


doublevision-whymust.jpg


ABC and XYZ repel me, I dispel thee!
QRS and TUV ensnare me, disrepair thee!

Speak of lettering's disrepute
Befouls my mood so fast.
I shan't recover whimsy back
Until at least half past.


negative-double-why-must.jpg


A-crunch the clock doth screech its cry
Around and round again,
And double baker's dozen still,
At sight those glyphs my hair I'll rend!

Why must dew be drops of glass
And sand be drops of dust?
Mightn't they be books of air
That whisper through a gentle gust?


spike-strange-symmetrical-whymust.jpg


odd-negative-whymust (2).jpg

Art & Poem
By @d-pend
9/25/17

Art created from a
Digitally manipulated
Free domain photo.

odd-negative-whymust (1).jpg


Sort:  

Why could not they be a starfish
Or the drops of morning dew?

why indeed. instead they are stoic things, dry and withered particles and prepositions. even verbs and interjections lack flavor compared to the beauty of rain. memory and sense give words sensuality and vigor. why have sex when you can make love?

!!! Yes...
You touched on an important point there, it is we who bestow life onto these bone-dry particles. Without consciousness and feeling they are dead indeed.

Lovely art and poetry compilation. I love this phrase

Why must dew be drops of glass
And sand be drops of dust?

Thank you, I'm happy that you like it :)
That phrase popped into my head, and the logical side didn't like it, but I knew it was the right one.

Once again I love this poem about words. It was so cute. When I read your poem it reminded me of when I was a little girl in SF. I had to go to Japanese School after my daily regular school and learn to write in Japanese. We were taught to write with a brush and black ink on special rice paper. It was a process of artful beauty and intention. Even the way you hold your brush was important and the strokes were meant to be with flow. It was something of an experience as well as a writing task. I smiled at your poem because it quickly reminded me of those days of Japanese brush strokes. You should try it because it can be a meditative experience. Take care! :)

The fire nation prepared for war, but the word benders gathered to rally a relentless assault against their flawed and perpetually tragic wording.

Very good poetry, friend. With simple language, and a beautiful set of languages.....

Thanks @amuchtar, glad you enjoy! =D

Indeed an amazing poem and post. Upvoted and following u as always. You have the talent i must state. Thanks for your support. Please do review my new post to know more about myself and my steemit experiences. Regards Nainaz.

What beautiful words with meaning. Thanks very much touched...

Imagine if this was animated...

Amazing poem @d-pend

Thanks for stopping by @munawar1235

This post has received a 6.94 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @d-pend. Send at least 0.100 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid for a portiona of the next 100% upvote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81