Warbirds

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Warbirds

.
original poetry by @d-pend
.
    with original art by Erik Shoemaker


glitch_by_erikshoemaker-dckop0s.jpg


Warbirds

Gulls in rippling gleams:
Numinous spirit, receive my alms.
Elated celestial, dwarf me fragile
With soft, preternatural, calm.

Tufted, squamous, be-ridged by journeys,
A shuddering planet of hands.
On a pedestal, spinning, the marbled delight,
More wondrous than age demands.

Staggering sight, bewildering torrent
Of awe zoomorphically pure.
Flash puddle to pool to thund'ring fount:
Appeared in a portal obscure.

Now lisp of seafoam, cloying haze,
And clouds that cling on the lip
Of a fernleaf dragon aloft and pale
Sing freedom across a world-ship.

I can only imagine the rush of the wings—
Burning, limitless, wild.
Above in the firmament lit by soul
Where hopes and dreams lay mild.


goblet_of_giants_by_erikshoemaker-dbz8tr5.png


neg1.gifexp 1.jpg

Poetry by
@d-pend
8–21–18
.
Art by
  Erik Shoemaker
.
  1 (and 4) ... "Glitch" [cropped]
  2 ... "Goblet of Giants"
  3 ... "Eclipse"


glitch_by_erikshoemaker-dckop0s 3.jpgneg3 (un).gif


eclipse_by_erikshoemaker-d9bol2y.jpg


opp3 (un).jpgnew.jpg

Bright-sown skies, laced by phantasm—
Unshut, the eyes of innocence below
Beholding the glimmering world
Whisper pawed invocations
Through sand adazed...


new2.jpgopp un 2.jpg


glitch_by_erikshoemaker-dckop0s.png


Sort:  

I absolutely loved this entire poem! <3
I'm a huge fan of sound and feel that are invoked by words and you definitely have that mastered!

(And the surreal art really adds to the dreamy lilt of your words!)

@stitchybitch! You're too kind <3

Thanks so much for the encouragement! I'm really glad you liked the art, as well. I really owe a lot to all these amazing visual artists. They help to bring words to life for those more visually inclined (which happens to be most people!)

I can only imagine the rush of the wings—
Burning, limitless, wild.

Favorite lines of the whole poem. Really good imagery. I felt like I could feel it, and I'm not sure if that was your intention, but I could feel the wind and hear the sound of the feathers fluttering.

Hey @calanandino thank you for the comment sharing your favorite lines! I'm happy to hear it was vivid for you. One of my favorite parts of writing poetry is when the lines flow out freely, and that often happens for me in the concluding lines of a piece. It's like the ribbon being tied around a package, giving that finishing touch! :-)

P.S. Welcome to Steemit!!!

hi D-pend I can only say in this post that the illustrations you chose added to your interpretation give a soft and relaxing context from your poetic point thanks for sharing such a beautiful art for both you and erick shoemaker

Hey buddy, thanks a lot for the feedback and encouragement. Have a great one!

What a poem! Though I could not understand the meaning of some stanzas, it doesn't make me to read it till end. I think I have to re-read it so I may clear those points.

Hey @akdx, means a lot that you'd take the time! I do tend to write in an unusual way, I suppose. Glad you found something of value in it :-)

I appreciate your poetry @d-pend. Your poetry challenge was very amazing.

@d-pend Your poetry is soft and natural. You describe in verse the details of the fine works of art. It's a pleasure to always see your dedication in every stanza you write. Happy night, dear friend.

Where did you find your illustrations?

Just wonderful, quite enchanting poetry!

Thank you so much for reading :-) Stop by anytime @bluemist. Have a good one.

WOW! I really love this! Its really creative and the details are all amazing! Even the child that is standing, I can see the details of him! Great Job!

Thanks a lot @fredpeds! If you like the art, be sure to support the creator Erik Shoemaker.

I love this surrealist art

I'm a big fan of the artist, too. Just discovered them the other day! Thanks for stopping by @royerjimenez.

"Of awe zoomorphically pure"- Great line!

Thanks @marcusantoniu26 for the feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86