You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would this Make a Good Nike Ad? >>> The Power of Poetic Advertising

in #poetry6 years ago

Poetic Verse is replete with patterns (meter, rhythm, rhyme, alliteration, etc.) and that pattern stimulates the release of dopamine.
Dopamine is the primary neurotransmitter responsible for: the anticipation of reward; the creation of focus; the holding of attention; and, the formation of memory.

Goddamn!! That's why I was tingling as I read this :-) That is some deep stuff you laid on us right there! It makes perfect sense now, you damn linguists have been pushing your word drugs on me for years!

Seriously though, you've opened up my mind to some concepts that I simply wasn't aware of and that is golden, so my gratitude is pretty up there right now!

Yes, yes it would make a great Nike ad, however I feel using them to sell me the concept of excellence via sports apparel somehow cheapens what are very powerful words.

As I was reading them, it reminded me of John Motson reading Kipling's If at the end of the 1998 World Cup, it stirred in me powerful emotions, perhaps because you mentioned NIke I associated it with that...

You sir are an intriguing fellow! :-)

Cg

Sort:  

@cryptogee,

If is one of my favorite poems of all time (and I'm not alone, especially in your country). If you liked If, I'd be willing to bet that you'll like this poem as well ... I wrote for my daughter on her 16th birthday:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/words-instead-poem-advice-from-a-father-to-his-daughter-her-16th-birthday-gift

Technology changes, people don't.

As an aside, Cryptogee, thanks for all the UpVotes and Comments. Starting off on Steemit can be a pretty ego-destroying endeavor. "Worse than a Bad Plan is No Plan. Worse than No Plan, is Two." I'm now up to my 50th plan. :-)

BTW: Feel free to forward your Comment, in triplicate, to any ocean-dwelling mammals you may happen know. The damned beasts are noticeably absent in the pools in which I'm splashing!

P.S.: In case you didn't click on my previous article regarding the "Science Behind The Art," here it is. You'll like it.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/two-swords-same-length-poem-a-lawyer-s-ad-and-the-science-behind-the-art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71