You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PhotoHaiku Entry #23 - FRAME

in #poetry6 years ago

Nice haiku, @brokemancode!

Back in the day, I became a Certified Picture Framer, and opened my own art and framing gallery in Seminole, Florida. I got into framing mostly because, as an artist myself, I got tired of having my artwork framed by framers who didn't know what they were doing, and did it wrong.

I was also interested because of my love of history, and because indeed, every piece has its story to tell.

And sometimes the oddest things wind up being the most beautiful and/or moving.

Sort:  

Wow i never knew that until you shared it to me @crescendoofpeace!
And you are right about this

And sometimes the oddest things wind up being the most beautiful and/or moving.

Indeed. I once framed a melted clock for a couple, which looked a bit like a stingray, or other sea creature. It was seriously cool.

They wanted it to commemorate their old house, which had been destroyed in a freak fire. They had been wanting to rebuild a larger home for their growing family, but couldn't afford the construction loan, and so were resigned to wait several years.

When it burned down, when their family was away on vacation, their insurance covered its replacement cost, and they were able to build the house of their dreams.

Even though they lost nearly everything in their home, the fire wound up being one of the best things that ever happened to them. You never know.

Another couple brought in s child's painting, such as those every parent has hanging on their refrigerator.

In their case however, she had just died in childhood, and it was the last painting she had done, or would ever do.

Needless to say we treated it like gold; as the priceless item it truly was. Again; you never know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81