You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POEM: Snowy Thoughts

in #poetry6 years ago

I can so relate!

I may have told you this before, but in the 90s, when I decided to take a short nonfiction class to document the damage I was seeing in the Florida Keys, my brain decided to switch onto lyric poetry mode, lol!

And I still find that I often "think" best in poetry, particularly when a subject is particularly near and dear to my heart, which goes right back to being an empath.

Perhaps a means of buffering against the pain, at least for me.

In any case, I love your poem. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

YES!!! Poetry as a means to buffer the intensity of empathy, OMG that! As for sliding into poetry mode when trying to focus on nonfiction, that couldn't have been an easy way to go through that class. lol!

It actually struck me as pretty funny at the time, as it did several of the class members, so it provided us with some comic relief.

Even more, I found that writing a poem on a given topic focused my attention enough to make the nonfiction that followed much easier.

So, in the end, my poetry and prose fed one another in a way that benefited both.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52