Wild and FreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"If I paint a wild horse, you might not see the horse... but surely you will see the wildness!"
- Pablo Picasso -


The 50 word challenge prompt is "run."

Wherein we revisit the wild and free tradition of the mustang.

Check out @jayna's 50 word story writing challenge here to understand the how and why of writing fiction in a mere 50 words.


Table of Contents

Running wild and free...
Image courtesy of Dorota Kudyba and http://pixabay.com

Once again, my 50 words are best read aloud.


Wild and Free

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Canter fast as the wind
Gallop down through the dale
Trot beyond a far hill
With the herd at your tail.

Roaming wild and free
Like the child in me
Pace alongside still waters
Pause beneath a green tree

Harness, saddle, and bit,
Left behind;
With abandon, run!
Liberty find.



Table of Contents

Off across the plain...
Image courtesy of Bhakti Iyata and http://pixabay.com

Jayna, you're the best!

Thanks for keeping us running... 😉


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry of all kinds,
please CLICK our Library Poetry Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

This one makes me think of an image of horses running wild and free.... and then... your image below the poem - perfection! hehehehehehehe

Evoked some sweet memories of riding horses - love it. when are you coming to see me???

Very cool old school feel to this poem @creatr
I really enjoyed the line

Like the child in me

which tied in the sense of freedom of the poem.

Thanks, @cizzo!

Yes indeed, we are born with free spirits... :D

Life is a race against time. The perseverant triumph and share their joy with others. God has given us this gift so that we may enjoy his wonders. Thanks for sharing these 50 words friend @creatr

Thank you, Felix.

Nicely done my friend @creatr

Well done with your poetic voice once again. There's nothing more free than a herd of wild horses (and nothing so chaotic either). I've seen some in a trip to the Badlands of North Dakota, and it feels kind of unusual to see horses 'in the wild', since one is always so used to seeing them behind a fence or under a saddle and bit.

Thanks!

I don't think I've ever seen a truly wild herd...

Yes, being domesticated is an acculturated thing, isn't it? Happens to us people as well... <sigh>

That was just lovely :)

Hi @creatr, as you know from a previous interaction, I had a password glitch with my @jayna Steemit account and am currently (at least until my regular account is restored) posting as @jaynas-minime.

I love this fluid poem and how it brings to life the pastoral vision of horses running across the planes. Incidentally, I saw this very image in real life yesterday just outside a wildlife refuge in the Smoky Mountains. About 20 horses were running in a pack across a field. It was amazing.

Very cool that you got to see wild horses!

A few months ago my wife and I were visiting @dreemsteem up in the mountains, and while we were driving back down we saw some ranchers doing a cattle drive... Not quite wild horses, but still quite interesting!

Oh sorry for my miscommunication! They were not wild horses. They were on a ranch. But they were running across the field together, which made me think of wild horses. It was so beautiful to see them on the run. Then one of the mares came up to the fence and hung out with us and let us pet her. :-)

Nice! And no worries, seeing them anywhere is a treat.

Neg mentioned that he has actually seen them in the wild... Pretty cool!

Roaming wild and free
Like the child in me

This line was extremely striking! I adore the Picasso quote. With all creative endevours we should strive to capture the essence of the subject rather than the subject itself. That is what separates the mundane from the sublime!

Thanks for your visit and encouraging comments. :D

running with wild horses is fun but have you actually tried running through the chilly woods at dawn with dogs? Run, run, run!

Well, I don't know about running, but I have walked the dog(s) through chilly woods... ;)

However, at dawn? Probably not...

This is lovely, especially read aloud

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44