What Has Become of 💌The Love Letter?💌 - A Plaintive HaikusteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

A long, long time ago, I was engaged to a sweet girl.

She lived far, far away. Almost daily, we exchanged love letters "the old fashioned way." The letters were written with pen and ink, carefully folded, and placed in sealed envelopes.

What Goes Into A Love Letter?

What Goes Into A Love Letter?
Photo courtesy of geralt and http://pixabay.com

During the last century,

this experience was common to all. Upon receiving a paper letter from our beloved, we would open it carefully, preserving the stamp and the postmark, and (after re-reading it enough times to extract the last iota of sentiment), we would store it away in some secret hiding place to be treasured long into the future.

Love-Letter-Writing Tool

Love-Letter-Writing Tool
Photo courtesy of Sergey Zolkin and http://unsplash.com

What have we come to?

Now, we text one another "selfies," tweet our feelings, and zip emails to and fro around the globe. No matter how passionate, now our words are ultimately erased from hard drives, shredded on floppy disks, tossed in the trash, and abandoned with last year's computer. The bits all return to the chaos from which they came.

Love Letter and Settee

Love Letter and Settee
Photo courtesy of ArtsyBee and http://pixabay.com

This haiku is a mournful reflection on these changes.



What Has Become of 💌The Love Letter?💌


A Plaintive Haiku


Once, cherished bundles.
Now, mislaid in cyberspace,
never seen again.



Love may still make the world go 'round, but the dusty, perfume-scented paper record of it, the "love letter," is no more.

Love letter, R.I.P.

Words From The Heart, Preserved On Paper

Words From The Heart, Preserved On Paper
Photo courtesy of silviarita and http://pixabay.com


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

Great post. I have a friend who writes a letter to his gf every day, and she returns one in kind. Sometimes short, sometimes long. Definitely a lost art. It is amazing to read old letters from the civil war times, etc. The written word was so important, and folks who could write were often SO eloquent. We think of ourselves as so advanced now. Some has certainly been lost...

Thanks for your excellent comment, my friend @ddschteinn! It's good to hear some are maintaining the practice.

You did it again. Nice post and haiku. I bet they were lovely letters!

Thank you, Dear @lakshmi!

So nice to hear from you again... How are you? :)

Life is good. Just got a new computer so still working on that. I will post haiku soon and a photo series on making sourdough rye bread.

That sounds quite lovely!
I look forward to reading.
I wish you great peace.

Says it all, I still dabbed little cards my hubby used USED to send me haven't had by for years but everyday he tells me he loves me... silly man lol

That's a good thing to hear every day! :) :) :)

It is, I am starting to say it back only took me 30 years :)

Good for you! Keep it up! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55