Praise for "The Writers' Block"

in #poetry7 years ago

“The success of the Inklings also helps us to see criticism in a positive light. There are, unfortunately, people who boost their own sense of importance by criticizing others as a matter of principle. Yet within this community, criticism was a mark of respect and commitment.”
– Alister E. McGrath –


I've found a place of lodging online...

It's called "The Writers' Block," and it feels like home.

Table of Contents

"I've found a lodging."
Image courtesy of Silvia & Frank and http://pixabay.com

Have you heard of the Inklings?

The Inklings was a group of writers at Oxford who met regularly to share their work and to encourage one another in their craft. Two of their members are almost universally recognized; C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien.

At first blush, it appears to me that "The Writers' Block" is a kindred group.
You can find them on discord.
I am very pleased to have made their acquaintance.



In Praise of The Writers' Block

~A Haiku~
by Duncan Cary Palmer


I came for critique,
But stayed for inspiration.
Unexpected joy.




Table of Contents

"I came for critique, but stayed for inspiration."
Image courtesy of Jill Wellington and http://pixabay.com


~FIN~


For more Haiku (and other poetry), please visit our Library Poetry Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

I love this! You are a great addition to the writer's block! Welcome :)

Hi, @sunravelme!

Thanks so much for your kind welcome, I'm so glad to be here... :D

@creatr it is really great to have you with us as well. So this goes right back at you. I see some healthy scepticism in the comments. I've never met a more talented group of writers in one place. I just know that I found my tribe and I'm very glad to have done so. I'm very pleased to hear that you feel this way as well.

Hey, @thinknzombie,

Thanks so much for your very kind words. I appreciate your taking the time to visit, to comment, and to make me feel welcome.

Hope to see you around! :D

Wait a minute! Weren't you always with us? Yes, you were! In heart and spirit we live and work together, even if we've met 'not yet'.

My goodness, Jon, thank you for such kind and encouraging words.

Thank you also for your kindness in Re-Steeming my post. ;)

I only just saw this post. Thank you very much for making it. Lovely having great people like you on the block.

Hello, @gmuxx, and thanks for dropping by.

You are more than welcome, because this is a heartfelt response to finding such grand feedback and new associations. :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Very glad to hear that there is a supportive group for Steemit writers on Discord. I like the name too - it really describes my beginnings as a wide-eyed minnow lol. I'll definitely check it out and one day soon, I'll continue writing fiction on Steemit. Thanks @creatr!

The Inklings were one of those once-in-a-generation writing circles that churned out paradigm-shifting authors.

Another example from history would be the Byron-Shelleys.

Your endorsement of the Writers’ Block is heartening, but could they really be the next example of such a rare phenomenon?

There's only one way to find out... ;)

I've had a very sweet taste thus far. I really do believe that there is a tremendous, synergetic, positively uplifting effect when well-intentioned people band together around a common interest and lift one another up. So very opposite the effects of centralized control and power.... :D

100% agree!

Interesting you bring that up - one way I describe Writers' Block, since we moved and expanded, is "decentralized." It's what allows an almost innovative division of labor there. Also, I've got dibs on Tolkien's spot! (wink)

Hahahahaha! :D

Hi, @geke! ;) Thanks for dropping by.

I'll obviously have to experience more of your own writing before I weigh in on whether or not I believe that your claim to the Tolkien slot is warranted... ;)

If I haven't already wowed you with that haiku and limerick, I'm not sure what else I can do? (lol)

:D

Just keep doing what you're doing, and allow me some grace and time to work my way back through things you've already posted... ;)

And, thanks again for your kind interaction and encouragement. :D

Well, this is just about the nicest post I've seen in a while. Your posts are a fruit salad of a variety of tasty morsels, and easy to read. It doesn't hurt that you say nice things about The Writers Block that I'm part of. Certainly glad to have you with us, and always nice to have a fellow writer who enjoys his craft!

Thanks, my friend! :D

I'm just still in that "rosy glow" of having found you folk... :D

glad you found your niche-ling :)

I sense the Writer's Block is a kind of pun in poetry! LOL Good post my friend.

Yep. Cool pun, eh? ;)

I love this! You have certainly charmed the socks off us there at the Block, with your otherworldly prose and just all around great-guy-ness. We are not without warts in this group, but mostly what you see is what you get. The fact that you feel at home with us is most encouraging to me, because if we had to put on airs to keep writers like you around, I dunno what we'd do. Disappear, probably. . . .THANK YOU!!!!

No, again, I thank you for your very warm welcome and encouragement...

And, May I PM you briefly on Discord? (Assuming I can figger out how to do that? ;)

Absolutely! I'm usually always hanging around there somewhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60