"Dandelion Insurgents" ~ A Haiku by Duncan Cary Palmer

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"The tube uplifts a signal Bud
And then a shouting Flower, —
The Proclamation of the Suns
That sepulture is o'er."

- Emily Dickinson -


Just as floating dandelion seeds spawn new dandelions,

my recent entry in Jayna's 50 word story writing challenge has now spawned an offspring in the form of a haiku. To appreciate the context, please read "Blowing Amid the Gloaming" before reading the haiku below.

In this article, I also get to use some more of the beautifully appropriate dandelion images I found while preparing my earlier piece.

The thanks, this time,

goes to a new acquaintance, @vdux, for offering up this contest.

Win SBD! - Contest by @vdux


Table of Contents

Dandelion Insurgents
Image courtesy of Oleg Guijinsky and http://unsplash.com

We're still playing the role of sentient dandelion seed.

So, open your mind once again, see the world from the viewpoint of a seed, swirling in transient vortices on the breeze...

Ready?


Table of Contents
We chuckle and sail on by...
Image courtesy of Fineas Gavre and http://unsplash.com

Dandelion Insurgents

by Duncan Cary Palmer

They call us "Damn weeds!"
We chuckle, sail on by, and
sow canary blooms.




Table of Contents

We sow canary blooms...
Image courtesy of Paul Illsley and http://unsplash.com

God bless the humble dandelion!


~FIN~



Table of Contents

God bless the humble dandelion!
Image courtesy of Timothy Dykes and http://unsplash.com


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more fantastic stories, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Hehehe I feel like this is deja vu and I should write the same comment :P
I see you found @vdux's Haiku contest - I was just looking at it and my brain wouldn't engage so I might go back later :)

My favorite haiku always have some ironic juxtaposition. I like the opposition of being "damn weeds" and how they are personified as chuckling. This made me smile 😊

Hi, @sunravelme!

You couldn't have blessed me more today than by letting me know that my haiku made you smile...

Thanks! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hi @creatr! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Oh, to live the life of a seed, blown into the wind to find a new adventure in life.

How envious I am! ;)

Tip!

Thank you, @dswigle!

I'm always glad to stir a renewed desire for liberty among my readers! ;)

:)

I love dandelions! A good friend of mine has a great recipe frying them. She also makes tea. I've heard people make wine from it too! Unfortunately... or maybe it's a good thing...? I haven't seen a dandelion since moving to Florida. We have other kinds of weeds. Not nearly as pretty or edible. :o/

Hi! :D

So nice to hear from you, my dear! Hope all's well... :D

I always loved dandelions as a kid; never understood why they wanted us to pull 'em out of the lawn. :D

Amazing and thoughtful. Now I have to enter the 50-word challenge!

I'm about to respond on the contest post.

Thank you, @vdux. ;)

Hmm lovely, you must be in love dandelion. Lovely enough to get a poem about them.

I do think dandelions are pretty.

Thanks for stopping by...

You're welcome.

excellent post dear friend @creatr, congratulations.
As a child I loved to follow the teeth of Leon flying through the meadow, I miss those beautiful moments.
I wish you a wonderful weekend

I always loved blowing the seeds around and watching them float on the wind.

Thank you for your visit, my dear friend! :D

Your writing is good thanks for sharing

Thank you.

A poetical embraced dandelion we'ed like to see more of these chuckles as they sail in your blogs @creatr. Well done.

Thanks, Troy! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78