A Tribute In Verse to Robert A. Heinlein, "Dean of Science Fiction"

in #poetry7 years ago

"Love your country, but never trust its government."
- Robert A. Heinlein -

Who's my favorite author?

Hands down, it's Robert A. Heinlein, "The Dean of Science Fiction".

What's my favorite book?

"The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress"

If you've ever read anything by Heinlein, you can understand my appreciation for the man. While I continue to pick up and read science fiction novels regularly, I'm always hoping for, but never finding Heinlein's peer.

Heinlein: Dean of Science Fiction

Heinlein: Dean of Science Fiction
Image courtesy of Thomas Budach and http://pixabay.com

I recently wrote a review of a wonderful book about time travel.

I read and thoroughly enjoyed "Last Year. I could hardly put it down.

Yet, despite its goodness, "Last Year" never quite did for me what Heinlein's books were, and still are, able to do.

Realizing this, I find myself desperately wishing that Robert Heinlein were still with us, still writing. Wishing that the life-extension technologies he often wrote of had arrived in time to serve him. Wishing, even, that his consciousness might have been uploaded into an electronic brain.

His writing helped create the future, and still inspires today.

These thoughts inspired me to write a poem in Heinlein's honor.


The Dean of Science Fiction

If Heinlein were still writing,
I’d be happy as a clam.
I’d have his latest paperback,
Kindle, or Hologram.

What a shame! Rejuvenation
tech was not online,
To make him the real Lazarus
Long, lingering through time.

If R.A.H. were with us still,
penning thoughts profound,
inspired by fresh space operas,
I’d ever break new ground.

The roads, once stationary,
once more would start to roll.
A "space cadet" would be a man
who made the honor roll.

Youthful readers would look up,
imagining the thrill
of treading distant planetoids
while honing each new skill.

Roads would become passé,
soon surpassed by better things.
Soaring cars, autonomous,
would transport without wings.

Authors of his quality
but once in life appear.
God rest your soul, friend R.A.H.
Your words still bring me cheer.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Good poem. I too wish that Heinlein was still pumping out novels.

I am interested in forming a life-extension community on Steemit to promote and create this tech. What # would be the best do you think to form such a community around?

May we both have 'Time Enough for Love'...

Thanks, @troi, for stopping by and commenting.

Yes, a life-extension community would be a grand thing here. Go for it! ;) :D

I don't have a clue about hashtags... but simply, #life-extension is not bad?

Heinlein was a genius. Father of the hippie free love movement without trying to be. Science fiction is where the future is born.

Thanks for visiting and commenting. ;)

Great post!
I especially like the image and how it looks like the city is in another galaxy. Thanks for sharing & steem on :)

Thanks! ;)

We all miss our favorite authors, they are just irreplaceable

I'm not exactly a science fiction reader but your poetry seriously rocks. (I wish they'd put a thumbs up emoji for steemit comments)

Thank you! I appreciate your affirmation. :D

Clever poem and great quote! It's fascinating to wonder what it would be like if our favorite authors from times past were alive and writing today. I wonder what they would think of life in 2017!?

Thank you for your supportive response!

say, creatr, have you read Jack Finney? His Time & Again is one of the more plausible time travel novels and it's also an illustrated novel which I know you like. I absolutely love Finney

No, I have not as yet...

I see it's available on Amazon... I'll check it out when I get the chance!

Thanks! ;) :D

I guarantee you'll love it - I'd send you a copy but the postage cost is crazy. I have the hard cover edition and I prize that :)

Yah, I know what you mean about postage... No worries! I'll get to it eventually, I've "listed" it at Amazon... :D

I appreciate your poetical skills and love the old science fiction. I understand your sentiment completely. Thanks for sharing my friend.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42