You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Last Pity Party - Original Poem - Information Finding Championship, Season 1, Round 21 Entry

in #poetry6 years ago

Thanks for your feedback! I don't usually adhere to positive or negative. Obviously the Pity Party doesn't really sound like a good time, but on the other hand, it's the last pity party. We don't have to go through it again.

I've always been fascinated by the phrase "pity party" and just wanted to do a little poem around it. Isn't it interesting how letting go of old behaviors can be just as bitter as sweet. we all want to be better people, but we have to say goodbye to the way we used to be, which can be really hard for some reason.

So I guess the poem is about defeating self-pity. Don't complain, don't look for blame, and make the most out of that last pity party.

Sort:  

You're welcome. Thanks for the further explanation of the meaning behind the poem. It has some deep meaning indeed. I tend to think some of those negative qualities are natural and not necessarily "bad", but I think I get that the sentiments are positive in the nature of overcoming old limiting ways, and I think that's a good message in regards to always trying to better yourself for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51